Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI

Master class

Danea Bauer/Farmgirl Photography 2020 Master Agriculturist Jeff Hendrickson and his wife Kate with a homebred Holstein cow
2020 MASTER: Jeff Hendrickson and wife Kate, Belleville, Wis., are pictured with Jeffrey-Way Saphire EX-94, their homebred 12-year-old registered Holstein cow.
Seven Wisconsin farmers are recognized as 2020 Master Agriculturists.

Wisconsin Agriculturist, in partnership with FS Growmark; the ag law firm of Twohig, Rietbrock, Schneider and Halbach, S.C., of Chilton; and Compeer Financial, proudly presents the 2020 Master Agriculturist award to seven top achievers in farming, community service and leadership.

The Master Agriculturist program is the state’s oldest farm awards program and is one of the longest-run career-achievement honors programs in American agriculture. It dates back 90 years to 1930, when Wisconsin Agriculturist started honoring farmers in the state for their hard work, dedication, success in farming and exemplary leadership.

Congratulations to Charles, George, Tom and Mark Crave of Waterloo; Jeff Hendrickson of Belleville; Eric Rygg of Eau Claire; and Kent Wendorf of Viroqua.

All seven winners have worn many hats in their businesses and communities, have built top-notch farming operations, and are truly deserving of receiving the Master Agriculturist award. The winners were selected by a panel of judges for their proven ability and accomplishments as progressive farmers, and for the time, effort and leadership they contribute to community, church and agricultural organizations.

The Master Agriculturist award is given to honor not only the selected individuals, but also their families. Watch the website next week for stories about each of this year’s winners.

The 2020 honorees will be recognized at an awards luncheon on April 1 at La Sure’s Banquet Hall in Oshkosh during the Wisconsin Public Service Farm Show, held at the nearby Experimental Aircraft Association Grounds.

The keynote speaker at the luncheon is Michael Perry. Perry is a New York Times bestselling author, humorist, playwright and radio show host from New Auburn. He grew up on a Wisconsin dairy farm, put himself through nursing school while working on a ranch in Wyoming, and then detoured into writing.

The Master Agriculturist process begins by requesting a nomination form. Forms already are available for the 2021 awards. To obtain a form, call 920-346-2285, email [email protected], or write to: Master Agriculturist, Wisconsin Agriculturist, 112 S. Prairie St., P.O. Box 236, Brandon, WI 53919.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.