Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: East

North Carolina producer elected NPB president

North Carolina producer elected NPB president
Other National Pork Board leaders are from Nebraska, South Dakota and Iowa.

Jan Archer, a pork producer from Goldsboro, North Carolina, was elected as president of the National Pork Board at the organization’s June board meeting in Des Moines, Iowa. The National Pork Board is comprised of 15 farmer-directors representing America’s pig farmers.

The National Pork Board elected officers during its June board meeting in Des Moines, Iowa. The board is comprised of 15 farmer-directors representing America’s pig farmers. (Photo: serkanozalp/Thinkstock)

“I want to thank my fellow board members for the confidence they are placing in me and I see much opportunity for our industry in the year ahead,” Archer said. “I have been involved in pork production for more than 40 years, and I have never seen a greater level of consumer interest in pig farming. I am proud of the work we do every day on our farms and look forward to sharing our stories of responsible animal production with packers, retail and foodservice customers and consumers.”

Archer and her husband Jack are owners of Archer Farms LLC. The sow farm markets 28,000 weaned pigs annually and raises corn, soybeans and hay. She also operates Archer Consulting, an enterprise that provides personnel training to the pork industry, including certification in Pork Quality Assurance Plus, Youth PQA Plus and Transport Quality Assurance for producers and allied industry representatives.

“We face many challenges, from the threat of emerging diseases to the responsible use of antibiotics,” Archer said. “But each issue can be managed from our platform supporting scientific research, producer education and pork promotion.”

Other officers

Terry O’Neel, a pork producer from Friend, Nebraska, is vice president. Steve Rommereim, a pork producer from Alcester, South Dakota, was named treasurer. Derrick Sleezer, a pork producer from Cherokee, Iowa, will serve as immediate past president. The four executive officers will serve one-year terms in their positions beginning July 1.

O’Neel, and his wife, Diane, own and operate O’Neel Farms. O’Neel Farms is a farrow-to-finish operation that markets 12,000 pigs annually. In addition to pigs, O’Neel Farms also grows corn and soybeans on 700 acres.

O’Neel, also elected to a second board term, served as treasurer in 2015-2016. O’Neel serves on the Domestic Marketing and Pork Quality, Safety and Human Nutrition committees. He has hosted farm tours for the Alliance for the Future of Agriculture in Nebraska, The International Water for Food Project and various service, student and youth groups. He served as president of the Nebraska Pork Producers Board in 2007.

Rommereim is the owner, manager and operator of Highland Swine in South Dakota. Highland Swine markets 10,000 pigs annually. He also grows corn, soybeans, and alfalfa on his farm. Rommereim is serving his first term as a producer-member of the National Pork Board and is on the Swine Health and Domestic Marketing committees. He is an Operation Main Street speaker and has served as a South Dakota delegate to the Pork Industry Forum since 2003. Rommereim was on the National Pork Board’s plan of work task force in 2009. He is past president of the South Dakota Pork Producers Association, serving on its board from 2001 to 2011. He also is past-president of Agriculture United for South Dakota.

Also appointed to the National Pork Board were Gene Noem Ames, Iowa; Alicia Pedemonti, Hopkinton, New Hampshire; and Michael Skahill, Williamsburg, Virginia.

Source: National Pork Board

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.