Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: West

Nominate someone you know for Master Farmer award

Is there a farmer or rancher you respect or admire? Someone who has a successful farm or ranch -- large or small – and who is making a difference in their family, community, state or industry?

Nominate them for Master Farmer recognition. It’s one of the oldest and most respected farmer recognition programs in the United States. In the Dakotas, it dates back to 1927. Penton/Farm Progress – publisher of the Dakota Farmer – conducts Master Farmer recognition programs in Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Wisconsin, a, Pennsylvania, Kansas and Michigan.

Men, women, couples or even whole families can be recognized. The only requirement is that the nominees are currently farming or ranching. You may want to nominate a member of your immediate family, a relative, friend, colleague or business associate. Nominating someone for Master Farmer recognition is easy. Email your nominees’ names and some information about why you think they deserve Master Farmer recognition to or mail it to Dakota Farmer, Lon Tonneson, editor, 6258 90th Ave. N., Glyndon, MN 56547. Include your name and phone number and/or email address so we may contact you for more information about your nominee.

Past Master Farmers
The following farmers and ranchers are recent Master Farmer winners:

2015 – Randolph Johnson, Onida, S.D.; Devon Wolkow, DeSmet, S.D.; Durward Otterness, Tower City, N.D.; and Jim Pernsteiner, Monango, N.D.

2014 – Kenneth Kunz, Eureka, S.D.; Lynn Jensen, Lake Preston, S.D.; Milton Limesand, Marion, S.D.; and Thomas and Jason Schill, Langdon, N.D.

2013 -- Vic Fosheim, Midland, S.D.; and Kent Plessner, Verona, N.D.

2012 -- Ernst Krabbenhoft, Argusville, N.D.; Ricky Lawlar, Watford City, N.D.; John Sumption, Frederick, S.D.; and David Iverson, Toronto, S.D.

2011 -- Terry Wanzek, Windsor, N.D.; Mark Stiegelmeier, Selby, S.D.; Ralph Holzwarth, Gettysburg, S.D.; and Les Koll, Wimbledon, N.D.

2010 -- Ron Alverson, Chester, S.D.; Jay Meyers, Colfax, N.D.; Brian O’Toole, Crystal, N.D.; Henry Roghair, Okaton, N.D.; Steve Strege, Lidgerwood, N.D.; Jeremy Wilson, Jamestown, N.D.

You can read about the winners in the December issues of the Dakota Farmer. See Click on “Magazine Online” on the lower left hand side of the page.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.