Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: West

Dakota farmers named to national soybean leadership

Timothy Hearsum/Getty Images Soybean field
DAKOTAS REPRESENTED: Growers from North and South Dakota were elected to serve on national soybean leadership boards.
Producers are appointed to American Soybean Association and the United Soybean Board.

Three of the region’s farmers have been named to national leadership positions within the American Soybean Association and the United Soybean Board. They join other producers from the Dakota’s in their opportunity to provide leadership and insight to these organizations.

The farmers and their positions follow:

Josh Gackle. Gackle began serving on the American Soybean Association board of directors in 2017 and was appointed to serve as treasurer on the executive team during the annual meeting. He farms corn, soybeans, wheat and barley in Kulm, N.D., where he also serves as a member of the Kulm City Council. Gackle is active as a director on the board for the North Dakota Soybean Growers and serves on legislative and membership committees.

Kevin Scott. Scott has served with the American Soybean Association in various roles over the past 10 years. Just elected to the executive team as chairman, he has formerly served as president, vice president and secretary. He farms with his wife and children in Valley Springs, S.D., on a diversified fourth-generation farm. His extensive involvement with ASA includes time serving on trade policy and international affairs committees. Scott is active in the South Dakota Soybean Association and serves as a national policies lead among other support needed. Other producers from the Dakotas serving on the ASA board of directors include Monte Peterson and Brandon Wipf.

Matthew Gast. A first-generation farmer from Valley City, N.D., Gast was elected to serve as one of 11 farmer-leaders during the United Soybean Board’s meeting. He will be serving as USB director and innovation and technology priority area coordinator. Other directors from the Dakotas include Darren Kadlec, Jay Myers, Ryan Richards, Jason Frerichs, Todd Hanten, David Iverson and Mike McCranie.


Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.