Dakota Farmer

New soybean leaders elected

North and South Dakota elect new leadership for soybean groups.

July 20, 2022

4 Min Read
The New North Dakota Soybean Council leaders
N.D. SOYBEAN LEADERSHIP: The New North Dakota Soybean Council leaders include (standing from left) Chris Brossart, chairman; Rob Rose, vice chairman; Jim Thompson, treasurer; and (seated) Mike Schlosser, secretary.Courtesy of North Dakota Soybean Council

The North Dakota Soybean Council and South Dakota Soybean Research and Promotion Council recently elected new leadership for their executive boards.

The North Dakota Soybean Council elected a new chairman, vice chairman, secretary and treasurer. The South Dakota Soybean Research and Promotion Council elected a new chairman and a new District 4 director. Here are the new officers:

North Dakota Soybean Council

Below are the new officeholders for the North Dakota Soybean Council:

Chris Brossart. Brossart of Wolford was elected chairman of the North Dakota Soybean Council. Brossart represents soybean farmers in District 11, which consists of 13 northwest counties. He grows soybeans, spring wheat, barley, corn and canola with his wife and parents on a third-generation family farm in Pierce County.

“It is really a privilege and an honor to be elected chair after serving on NDSC for four years,” Brossart said. “To have your peers have confidence in you and respect for you to be in this position means a lot, and it’s very, very humbling at the same time.”

Brossart was positive about the future for soybean farmers in the state. “There are many opportunities developing in the state for soybeans and soybean products. My goal as the newly elected NDSC chairman is to do my part to keep the industry moving forward. Having two soybean processing plants coming on line in the state will present some real opportunities for North Dakota farmers.

“With soybean oil in demand for products, such as renewable diesel and soybean meal, which is available as a high-quality livestock feed, the future looks very bright. As board members, we are dedicated to do our part to keep developing those markets and to make the best use of soybean checkoff dollars that farmers invest.”

Rob Rose. Rose of Wimbledon was chosen as vice chairman. He represents soybean producers in Barnes County. He farms with his wife, Dawn, and they produce soybeans, corn, wheat, barley and pinto beans on a fifth-generation centennial farm. He is a member of the North Dakota Soybean Growers Association and has an agricultural economics degree from North Dakota State University.

Mike Schlosser. Schlosser of Edgeley was elected secretary. He represents soybean farmers in District 3 for LaMoure and Dickey counties. Along with his father, Schlosser grows soybeans, corn and wheat. He graduated from NDSU with a bachelor’s degree in plant protection, as well as crop and weed science. He is active with the North Dakota Farmers Union and is a member of the North Dakota Soybean Growers Association.

Jim Thompson. Thompson of Page was elected treasurer. He represents soybean producers in Cass County. Thompson farms with his wife, Jennifer. He serves as chairman of Rich Township and president of Cass County Township Officers Association. Thompson and his wife farm soybeans, corn, wheat and dry beans. He holds a degree in aviation administration and business management from the University of North Dakota.

South Dakota soybean council

The newly elected officers to the South Dakota Soybean Research and Promotion Council include:

Jason Frerichs. Frerichs of Wilmot was elected chairman of the council. “We are in an exciting era of soybean utilization in the marketplace,” he said. “Our soybean checkoff will continue to seek new partners and build upon the solid foundation,” he said, adding that “the investment made by soybean farmers continues to pay dividends in soybean oil and meal as evidenced by new soybean crushing plants coming on line.”

0718W1-1242B-1540x800.jpgSOYBEAN CHAIRMAN: Jason Frerichs of Wilmot, S.D., has been elected to serve as chairman of the South Dakota Soybean Research and Promotion Council. They also elected new growers for vice chair, treasurer and secretary.

Along with electing Frerichs, the board elected the following soybean growers to leadership positions:

  • David Struck of Wolsey as vice chair

  • Mike McCranie of Claremont as treasurer

  • Heather Beaner of Mellette as secretary

David Iverson. Soybean producers from across South Dakota elected soybean grower David Iverson of Astoria to represent District 4 on the board. Dawn Scheier and Mike McCranie were re-elected to represent Districts 3 and 7. This is the farmer-led organization charged with investing and leveraging checkoff dollars on behalf of South Dakota soybean farmers.

Iverson has farmed for more than 30 years and raises corn and soybeans. He previously served on the South Dakota Soybean Research and Promotion Council board for nine years. Through his role on the soybean checkoff, Iverson was chairman of the World Initiative for Soy in Human Health and served on the Ag United for South Dakota Board.

Iverson also served as one of South Dakota’s representatives on the United Soybean Board, holding the position of national secretary.

Source: North Dakota Soybean Council and South Dakota Soybean Research and Promotion Council, is solely responsible for the information provided and is wholly owned by the source. Informa Business Media and all its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset.

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like