Sponsored By
Delta Farm Press Logo

2020 SCGA Safety Awards: Mid-South gins recognized for safety2020 SCGA Safety Awards: Mid-South gins recognized for safety

Gins reduced lost time accidents in 2019.

Brad Robb

March 19, 2020

25 Slides

Seventeen Mid-South cotton gins earned Diamond Awards for outstanding safety records during the Excellence in Safety Award ceremony at the Mid-South Farm and Gin Show.

“We are proud to recognize these gins and their employees who make safety a priority,” says Gary Hayes, Southern Cotton Ginners Association outgoing president and Missouri cotton ginner. “Work conducted by the Gin Safety Committee in 2019 continues to decrease accident rates and prevent loss of life.”

The SCGA safety program reduces accidents, lowers insurance costs and increases efficiencies of Mid-South cotton gins.

Cooter Cotton Gin, Cooter, Mo., was recognized as the “Most Improved Gin” during the awards ceremony. Twenty-six gins received Platinum awards, 11 received Gold awards, 19 received Silver awards, and 3 received Bronze awards. “There were no reportable deaths during the 2019 ginning season,” says William Lindamood, safety director, SCGA. “Gins reduced lost time accidents even as many continued to run late into December and January.

Southern Cotton Ginners Association Excellence in Safety Award Winners 2019


Diamond: Black Oak Gin Co. Inc., Black Oak; Kiech-Shauver-Miller Gin Co., Monette; Platinum: Childress Gin & Elevator Co. Inc., Monette; GPS Gin Co. Inc., Portland; McClendon Mann & Felton Gin #3, Brickeys; McClendon Mann & Felton Gin, Marianna; McGehee Producers Gin, McGehee; Portland Gin & Warehouse, Inc., Portland; Senter & Sons Gin LLC, Osceola; Taylor Gin Co., Gould. Gold: Graves Gin Corporation, Rector; Silver: Lee Wilson and Company Gin, Wilson; Monette Co-op Gin, Monette; Rabbit Ridge Gin & Whse., Dyess; W.B. deYampert Gin, Wilmot; Bronze: Langston Enterprises, Inc., Blytheville.

Related:Construction didn't stop the 2020 Mid-South Farm and Gin Show


Diamond: Catavoy Cotton Gin, LLC, Jonesville; McNutt Gin Inc., Boyce; Tensas Co-op Gin, Inc., Newellton; Tri-Parish Gin, LLC, Lettsworth; Platinum: Rapides Grant Gin II, Boyce; Tanner & Co., Frogmore; Silver: Associated Producers Co-op, Winnsboro; Planters Gin Company, St. Joseph.


Diamond: Bernie Farmers Gin, Malden; Blakemore Cotton & Grain LLC, Campbell; Farmers Union Gin, Portageville; Stokes-Mayberry Gin Co. Inc., Malen; Vanduser Gin Co. Inc., Vanduser; Platinum: A. C. Riley Cotton Co. Inc., New Madrid; Caruthersville Gin, Caruthersville; Dalton Cotton Company, Senath; Graves Kennett Gin, Kennett; McCord Gin Company, Gideon; Richardson Gin, Inc., Marston; Gold: 4-Way Gin, Senath; Bootheel Cotton Co., Matthews; Silver: Crowder Gin Co., Sikeston; GT Cotton Company LLC, Cardwell; Mahan Gin Co. LLC, Parma; Sandy Ridge Cotton Co. LLC, Malden; Most Improved SCGA: Cooter Cotton Gin, Cooter.

Related:Farm Show Feeds addresses hunger across Mid-South


Diamond: Bogue Chitto Gin, Macon; Silver Creek Gin Co., Holly Bluff; Platinum: Avon Gin Inc., Avon; Farmers Gin, Inc. of Hamilton, Hamilton; Four County Gin Inc., Calhoun City; Hi Grade Gin Corp., Winona; Yalobusha County Gin Company, Inc., Coffeeville; Yazoo Planters Gin Co., Yazoo City; Gold: Gaddis & McLaurin Gin, Bolton; North Delta Gin LLC, Marks; Tunica Gin Corp., Tunica; Silver: Bobo Mosely Gin Company, Lyon; Como Consolidated Gin Co. Inc., Como; Greenwood Gin Inc., Greenwood; Grundfest & Klaus Gin, Cary; Mattson Gin Inc., Lyon; Quito Gin Company, Itta Bena; Bronze: Issaquena S. Washington Gin Inc., Glen Allan; Midnight Gin Co. Inc., Midnight.


Diamond: Burlison Gin Company, Inc., Burlison; Espey Gin Co., McLemoresville; Longtown Gin, Mason; Platinum: Arp Cotton Gin Co. LLC, Ripley; Cairo Farmers Gin, LLC, Alamo; Crockett Gin Co. LLC, Maury City; Farmers Gin of Humboldt, Humboldt; Gold: Crocket Mills Gin, LLC, Crocket Mills; Hickory Valley Gin, Hickory Valley; Phoenix Gin Co., Tiptonville; Tennessee Gins & Warehouses, Covington; Union Gin Co. Inc., Brownsville; Silver: Bemis Gin LLC, Jackson; Halls Gin Company, Halls; L & H Gin, Alamo.

Safety committee members are Kevin Watts, Arkansas, chairman; Tom Calloway, Louisiana; Bill Newsom, Mississippi; Jeff Lindsey, Missouri; and Bubba Burks, Tennessee. “These men provide guidance leading to overall improvements in our safety program,” Hayes says. “A great deal of work and dedication is required by all Mid-South gins to earn these awards.”

About the Author(s)

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like