is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist

NAWG honors Rep. Frank Lucas as Wheat Leader of the Year

Rep. Frank Lucas, (R-Okla.), Chairman of the House Agriculture Committee has been named The National Association of Wheat Growers (NAWG) 2013 Wheat Leader of the Year.

Rep. Frank Lucas, (R-Okla.), Chairman of the House Agriculture Committee has been named The National Association of Wheat Growers (NAWG) 2013 Wheat Leader of the Year at the annual Wheat Industry Winter Conference in Washington, D.C.

NAWG President Bing Von Bergen presented the award to Rep. Lucas during committee meetings last Friday.

If you are enjoying reading this article, please check out Southwest Farm Press Daily and receive the latest news right to your inbox.

In remarks following the award, Chairman Lucas expressed his appreciation to the NAWG board.

“It is always an honor to be recognized for your efforts on behalf of America’s farmers. This is important to me because I represent one of the largest wheat growing regions in the country. The timing of this award is especially momentous as the House just passed the farm bill conference report getting us one step closer to enacting a five-year, comprehensive farm bill very soon. I appreciate the work of the National Association of Wheat Growers and again for honoring me with this award,” said Lucas.

Check the latest on revolutionary farm bill.

NAWG President Bing Von Bergen, a farmer and seedsman from Moccasin, Mont., expressed his appreciation for Chairman Lucas’ efforts in representing farmers.

“We appreciate all the work Chairman Lucas does on behalf of wheat farmers and are proud to present him with the 2013 Wheat Leader of the Year Award. Chairman Lucas is a true champion of the wheat industry and we thank him for his strong leadership.”

The award is given annually by NAWG to one member of Congress based on his or her demonstrated commitment to the well-being and goals of the wheat industry. It is the wheat industry's highest legislative award.

Also of interest:

Wheat Outlook: Jekyll trumps Hyde

Corn and drought not supporting wheat prices

Can you expect wheat prices to rise?

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.