Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI

Honor ag's best by nominating a 2017 Master Agriculturist

Honor ag's best by nominating a 2017 Master Agriculturist
The program began recognizing top Wisconsin farmers in 1930

In 2017, Wisconsin Agriculturist will again honor Wisconsin farmers who have demonstrated outstanding farm management skills while also taking active leadership roles in their communities.

The Master Agriculturist awards are made to honor not only the selected individuals, but also their families.

The 2016 Master Agriculturists are Dick Cates of Spring Green, Mark Dietsche of Bloomer, Ken Feltz of Stevens Point and Hank Wagner of Oconto Falls.

The Master Agriculturist program has a rich history dating back 86 years to 1930, when the magazine first started honoring top Wisconsin farmers.

Know someone who should be a Master Agriculturist? Time to nominate them.

“Historically, we have honored the best of the best,” says Willie Vogt, corporate editorial director for Wisconsin Agriculturist and Penton. “We know there are Master Agriculturists in every county in Wisconsin. We just need someone to nominate them.”

Wisconsin Agriculturist is looking for the cream of the crop. This is a wonderful opportunity to recognize farmers who have excelled and can serve as an inspiration to others.

“Honoring Master Agriculturists is a great tradition for Farm Progress,” Vogt says. “Historically, these agricultural leaders in the community have also been innovators for a wide range of technologies. We’re looking forward to a long future honoring the state’s best and brightest.”

Nomination forms are available online at To have a nomination form mailed to you, call the Wisconsin Agriculturist editorial office at 920-346-2285 or send an email to [email protected]

Nominations must be postmarked by Dec. 5. Letters of recommendation help strengthen the nomination and should be included. Agronomists, county Extension agriculture agents, nutritionists, veterinarians, neighbors and clergy members are good sources to request to write a letter of recommendation.

Farmers previously nominated who haven’t been named Master Agriculturists need a letter sent requesting their nomination be considered for 2017.

Winners will be selected by a committee of industry leaders and honored at a luncheon on March 29 at La Sure’s Banquet Hall in Oshkosh during the Wisconsin Public Service Farm Show, March 28-30, in Oshkosh. Winners also will be featured in the March issue of Wisconsin Agriculturist. Past winners will be invited to attend the Master Agriculturist awards program and luncheon.

Take a few minutes and nominate somebody you believe should receive the award. Nomination forms and letters of recommendation should be returned to Wisconsin Agriculturist, P.O. Box 236, Brandon, WI 53919.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.