Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: United States
soybean field fotokostic/iStock/Thinkstock

Minnesota farmer to lead American Soybean Association

Bill Gordon will serve as 2020 president. Kevin Scott of South Dakota is vice president.

Minnesota grower Bill Gordon was elected to lead the American Soybean Association at its annual meeting in St. Louis last week.

Gordon will serve as 2020 ASA president. Gordon previously served as vice president and treasurer of ASA and has been a national director since 2012. He is a fourth-generation farmer who, with his father, grows 50/50 soybeans and corn across 2,000 acres, including 250 acres of buffer strips and wetlands. Gordon is also the owner of Worthington Tax and Business Services, a full-service business including farm analysis and planning.

Immediate Past President Davie Stephens, Kentucky, moves to the role of ASA chairman. Former chairman John Heisdorffer, Iowa, rotates off the nine-member ASA Governing Committee but remains on the ASA board.

The ASA Board also elected Kevin Scott, South Dakota, to serve as vice president, a position that places him in line to serve as the association’s president in 2021.

Scott previously served as secretary and an at-large member of the ASA Governing Committee. He has been on the ASA board of directors since 2012. Scott and his wife, Jannell, farm with a brother, nephew and son in southeast South Dakota on a fourth-generation operation that began in 1886.

In addition, the board voted to elect Brad Doyle, Arkansas, as secretary; Brad Kremer, Wisconsin, as treasurer; and Bret Davis, Ohio; Josh Gackle, North Dakota; and Daryl Cates and Stan Born, both of Illinois, as at-large members of the governing committee.

New members beginning their nine-year terms on the ASA board are John Comegys, Delaware; Steph Essick, Iowa; Mauricio Garcia, Texas; James Hereford, Alabama; Brad Macauley, New York; Matt McCrate, Missouri; Phil Ramsey, Indiana; Justin Rivers, South Carolina; Dave Walton, Iowa; Casey Youngerman, Tennessee, and Andrew Moore, Georgia.

Source: ASA, which is solely responsible for the information provided and is wholly owned by the source. Informa Business Media and all its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset. 
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.