Dakota Farmer

100-bushel king and queen crowned in South Dakota

Benefits of irrigation shine in drought-year yields.

Kevin Schulz

January 4, 2022

4 Min Read
Kory Standy in soybean field
BEAN KING: Kory Standy and his wife, Tonya, topped the 2021 South Dakota Soybean Association yield contest with 118.48 bushels per acre and 108.82, respectively, on their subsurface irrigated land neat Platte in Charles Mix County, Mo. Farm Progress

The king and queen of South Dakota soybean growers hail from Charles Mix County.

The South Dakota Soybean Association recognized its yield and quality contest winners during the association’s recent AgOutlook Conference in Sioux Falls, and Kory and Tonya Standy took home top honors, with yields of 118.48 bushels per acre and 108.82, respectively, on irrigated ground.

“I was amazed with the yield — best yield I ever had,” Kory says. In a drought year, the Platte-area farmer was able to make good use of his subsurface irrigation. “We never had big winds, and my beans didn’t lodge this year, and everything turned out really well,” he says.

Kory’s winning soybean was Pioneer P28A42X, while Tonya took runner-up honors with Asgrow AG26XF1. The Standys helped the soybeans along with a foliar fungicide applied at the R2 to R3 stage, as well as micronutrients and potash injected through subsurface irrigation. Both were entered in the Group 2 or 3 Irrigated category.

The Standys incorporate a corn-soybean rotation “because it seems like you can pick up 10-, 15-, 20-bushel yield by doing the rotation,” Kory says.

Winter wheat is rotated into the farm’s dryland ground. Kory admits his dryland soybean yields dropped off 50 to 60 bushels an acre.

Contest rules state the contest field must be at least 10 continuous acres and a minimum of 3 acres must be harvested from this area. A third-party witness, such as an FFA adviser, university personnel, crop insurance agent, lender or other impartial witness must be present to supervise measuring, harvesting and weighing of the yield for each entry.

Friendly competition

Kory sees entering yield contests as a way to continue improving practices that can benefit the overall farm. “It’s a good way to see how good we are and see if we can keep improving on it,” he says. He also cherishes the friendly competition that develops between growers, as well as sharing practices and ideas.

Kory has entered the state soybean yield contest over the past few years, racking up multiple wins, but this year’s 118 is his best yet.

He echoes the “best crop ever” on his irrigated cornfield, with a yield of 312.32 bushels per acre — good enough for second place in South Dakota in the Conventional Irrigated category in the National Corn Growers Association yield contest. “I’d kind of like to hit 120 on the beans, and hopefully, I’ll get that done here.”

The Standys’ son Chandler, 25, won the yield main class two years ago but has yet to eclipse the 100-bushel mark. “He wants to get to that mark, but to do it on his own,” Kory says, “and we hope we can get him to that.”

Chandler will be working some of his parents’ dryland and irrigated ground this year to work toward that 100-bushel plateau.


Soybean results

Here are the soybean yield winners from South Dakota, given in bushels per acre:

Group 0, No-till

  • Jerry Houslog, Moody County, 73.82; Asgrow AG09XF0

  • Mitchell McCranie, Brown County, 72.94; Asgrow AG09XF0

  • Paul Voigt, Bon Homme County, 54.01; Asgrow AG09X9

Group 0 or 1, Irrigated

  • Adam Weise, Moody County, 81.62; Pioneer P09A62X

  • John Wipf, Brookings County, 70.64; Channel 1619R2X

Group 1, Nonirrigated

  • Aubrey Scherff, Moody County, 84.22; Asgrow AG16X0

  • Paul Scherff, Moody County, 84.13; Asgrow AG16X0

  • Adam Wiese, Moody County, 79.96; Pioneer P18A98X

Group 1, No-till

  • Chuck Beving, Clark County, 83.98; Pioneer P11T55E

  • Garret Meier, Clark County, 76.01; Pioneer P16T58E

  • Conrad Waldner, Beadle County, 72.50; 18X128 distributed by Legend Seeds

Group 2, Nonirrigated

  • Rocky Schreurs, Minnehaha County, 82.49; AE2110 Apex distributed by Mustang Seeds

  • Harold Wipf, Hutchinson County, 80.71; Pioneer P28A42X

  • David Rochel, Brookings County, 73.39; Asgrow AG20X9

Group 2, No-till

  • Doug Hanson, Union County, 84.21; Golden Harvest GH2818E3

  • Justin Reaves, Moody County, 80.03; Asgrow AG20X9

  • Dean Bosse, Union County, 74.33; Golden Harvest GH2922E3

Group 2 or 3, Irrigated

  • Tonya Standy, Charles Mix County, 108.82; Asgrow AG26XF1

  • Steve Hagena, Turner County, 98.63; Pioneer P28A42X

  • Jarrod Hagena, Turner County, 92.18; Pioneer P28A42X

Group 3, Nonirrigated

  • James Hora, Hutchinson County, 70.72; Pioneer P31A95BX

  • Jon Schaeffer, Yankton County, 62.77; Pioneer P31A95BX

  • Nicholas Kniffen, Bon Homme County, 62.66; Pioneer P31A22X

Group 3, No-till

  • Paul Voigt, Bon Homme County, 67.47; Asgrow AG30X9

  • Brian Schmidt, Turner County, 63.24; Asgrow AG30XF1

  • Jay Kokes, Charles Mix County, 60.16; Pioneer P31A22X

Master’s Class

  • Kory Standy, Charles Mix County, 118.48; Pioneer P28A42X

  • Tonya Standy, Charles Mix County, 108.82; Asgrow AG26XF1


Youth yield contest

Below are youth soybean yield winners:

Group 0 or 1, Nonirrigated

  • Jackson Hauglid, Moody County, 68.98; Integra 51629N

Group 2 or 3, Nonirrigated

  • Myles Kokes, Charles Mix County, 55.77; Pioneer P21A28X


Soybean quality contest

Below are winners for soybean quality:

Group 0

  • Paul Voigt, Bon Homme County, Asgrow AG09X9; oil, 19.9%; protein, 34.8%; estimated processed value, 174.7

  • Adam Wiese, Moody County, Pioneer P09A62X; oil, 19%; protein, 35.4%; EPV, 173.4

Group 1

  • Thomas Hagedorn, Moody County, NK S13-E3; oil, 19.5%; protein, 35.1%; EPV, 174.2

  • Richard Wiese, Moody County, Pioneer P18A98X; oil, 19.5%; protein, 34.7%; EPV, 173

Group 2

  • Tim Hofer, Hutchinson County, 27X827 distributed by Legend Seeds; oil, 19.3%; protein, 35%; EPV, 173.2

  • Doug Hanson, Union County, Golden Harvest GH2818E3; oil, 19.1%; protein, 34.7%; EPV, 171.6

Group 3

  • Paul Voigt, Bon Homme County, Asgrow AG30X9; oil, 19.6%; protein, 35.7%; EPV 176.4

  • Nicholas Kniffen, Bon Homme County, Pioneer P31A22X; oil, 19.4%; protein, 34.3%; EPV, 171.5


Youth soybean quality contest

Here are the winners in the youth quality contest:

Group 1

  • Jackson Hauglid, Moody County, Integra 51629N; oil, 18.9%; protein, 34.2%; EPV, 169.4

Group 2

  • Myles Kokes, Charles Mix County, Pioneer P21A28X; oil, 20.3%; protein, 33.2%; EPV, 166.4


100-bushel club

The 2020 100-bushel club winners are:

  • Bob Creasey, Charles Mix County, 118.14; Pioneer P28A42X

  • LaRohn Hagena, Turner County, 101.12; Pioneer P28A42X

About the Author(s)

Kevin Schulz

senior content specialist, The Farmer

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like

Aug 29 - Aug 31, 2023
Farm Progress Show annually hosts more than 600 exhibitors displaying new farm equipment, tractors, combines and farm implements; seed and crop protection products; and many additional farm supplies and services.