Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Top Wisconsin farmers honored

Kelly Rickert 2017 Wisconsin Agriculturist Master Agriculturists
2017 MASTER AGRICULTURISTS: Earning the Master Agriculturist honor this year are: (from left) Mike Cerny of Sharon; Jim Rickert of Eldorado; Rick Dado of Amery; and Dan Siemers, Paul Siemers, Sherry Siemers-Peterman and Wally Siemers, all of Newton. These farmers were honored at an awards program held March 29 in Oshkosh.
Seven farmers from Polk, Fond du Lac, Manitowoc and Walworth counties received awards.

The Wisconsin Agriculturist, in partnership with the Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board; Twohig, Rietbrock, Schneider and Halbach S.C., of Chilton; and Badgerland Financial, recently presented the 2017 Master Agriculturist awards to seven top achievers in farming, community service and leadership.

Receiving the awards on March 29 at La Sure’s Hall in Oshkosh were: Mike Cerny of Sharon; Rick Dado of Amery; Jim Rickert of Eldorado; and Wally, Sherry, Dan and Paul Siemers of Newton. The winners were selected for their proven ability and accomplishments as progressive farmers, as well as for the time, effort and leadership they contribute to community, church and agricultural organizations.

Jerry Apps, a rural author and professor emeritus at University of Wisconsin-Madison, spoke about Wisconsin's rich agricultural history. Wisconsin Secretary of Agriculture Ben Brancel also spoke about the importance of farming and family to about 110 guests.

The Master Agriculturist award is given to honor not only the selected individuals, but also their families.

The Master Agriculturist program is the oldest farm awards program in the state, and is one of the longest-running career-achievement honors programs in American agriculture. The award dates back to 1930, when the Wisconsin Agriculturist first started honoring top Wisconsin farmers for their hard work, dedication, success in farming and exemplary leadership.

Nomination forms are already available for the 2018 awards. To obtain a form, call 920-346-2285, email [email protected], or write to: Master Agriculturist, Wisconsin Agriculturist, 112 S. Prairie St., P.O. Box 236, Brandon, WI 53919. Deadline for nominations for the 2018 awards is Dec. 8.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.