Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: East

Deadline to nominate a Master Agriculturist nears

historical farm buildings
RICH HISTORY: The Master Agriculturist program has a rich history dating back 87 years to 1930, when the Wisconsin Agriculturist first started honoring top farmers in the state.
Nominations for the 2018 award are due Dec. 5.

In 2018, Wisconsin Agriculturist will again honor Wisconsin farmers who have demonstrated outstanding farm management skills while also taking active leadership roles in their communities.

The Master Agriculturist awards are made to honor not only the selected individuals, but also their families.

The 2017 Master Agriculturists are Mike Cerny of Sharon, Rick Dado of Amery,  Jim Rickert of Eldorado, and Wally, Sherry, Dan and Paul Siemers of Cleveland.

The Master Agriculturist program has a rich history dating back 87 years to 1930, when the magazine first started honoring top Wisconsin farmers.

Wisconsin Agriculturist is looking for the cream of the crop. This is a wonderful opportunity to recognize farmers who have excelled and can serve as an inspiration to others.

To have a nomination form mailed or emailed to you, call the Wisconsin Agriculturist editorial office at 920-346-2285, or send an email to [email protected].

Nominations must be postmarked or emailed by Dec. 5. Letters of recommendation help strengthen the nomination and should be included. Agronomists, county Extension agr agents, nutritionists, veterinarians, neighbors and clergy members are good sources to request to write a letter of recommendation.

Farmers previously nominated who haven’t been named Master Agriculturists need a letter sent requesting their nomination be considered for 2018.

Winners will be selected by a committee of industry leaders and honored at a luncheon on March 28 at La Sure’s Banquet Hall, during the Wisconsin Public Service Farm Show, March 27-29, in Oshkosh. Winners also will be featured in the March issue of Wisconsin Agriculturist. Past winners will be invited to attend the Master Agriculturist awards program and luncheon.

Take a few minutes and nominate somebody you believe should receive the award. Nomination forms and letters of recommendation should be returned to: Wisconsin Agriculturist, P.O. Box 236, Brandon, WI 53919; or emailed to [email protected].

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.