Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: United States

House Ag Committee members announced for 116th Congress

Committee will have 26 Democrats and 21 Republicans. California has largest delegation on the committee.

Members of the House Agriculture Committee have been announced.  Rep. Collin Peterson, D-Minnesota, will chair the committee and Rep. Michael Conaway, R-Texas, is the ranking member.

“This is a strong roster for the Ag Committee and I’m looking forward to tackling the challenges that our farmers and ranchers, rural communities and working families face,” Peterson said. “We have a good cross-section of the diversity of crops grown in this country and the regions that grow them, as well as great representation of the variety of issues of jurisdiction on the Committee.”

“I’m pleased to have a great group of new and returning members on the Agriculture Committee who will continue the work of restoring prosperity to our nation’s farmers and ranchers and all of rural America,” Conaway said. “We have a great deal of work to do, including implementing and protecting the new farm bill, continuing to press for a roll back of harmful regulations that hurt our farmers and ranchers, and leveling the global playing field to create more market access for U.S. agriculture products. I’m confident in the team we have assembled, and I look forward to working alongside my new colleagues in championing rural America and our country’s farm and ranch families.”

California has the most representation on the committee with six members; five states have three members on the committee: Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Minnesota and New York.

Democratic members of the committee for the 116th Congress, in additon to Peterson:

  1. David Scott, Georgia
  2. Jim Costa, California
  3. Marcia Fudge, Ohio
  4. Jim McGovern, Massachusetts
  5. Filemon Vela, Texas
  6. Stacey Plaskett, U.S. Virgin Islands
  7. Alma Adams, North Carolina
  8. Abigail Spanberger, Virginia
  9. Jahana Hayes, Connecticut
  10. Antonio Delgado, New York
  11. T.J. Cox, California
  12. Angie Craig, Minnesota
  13. Anthony Brindisi, New York
  14. Jeff Van Drew, New Jersey
  15. Josh Harder, California
  16. Kim Schrier, Washington
  17. Chellie Pingree, Maine
  18. Cheri Bustos, Illinois
  19. Sean Patrick Maloney, New York
  20. Salud Carbajal, California
  21. Al Lawson, Jr., Florida
  22. Tom O’Halleran, Arizona
  23. Jimmy Panetta, California
  24. Ann Kirkpatrick, Arizona
  25. Cindy Axne, Iowa

Republican members of the committee for the 116th Congress, in addition to Conaway:

  1. Glenn 'GT' Thompson, Pennsylvania
  2. Austin Scott, Georgia
  3. Rick Crawford, Arkansas
  4. Scott DesJarlais, Tennessee
  5. Vicky Hartzler, Missouri
  6. Doug LaMalfa, California
  7. Rodney Davis, Illinois
  8. Ted Yoho, Florida
  9. Rick Allen, Georgia
  10. Mike Bost, Illinois
  11. David Rouzer, North Carolina
  12. Ralph Abraham, Louisiana
  13. Trent Kelly, Mississippi
  14. James Comer, Kentucky
  15. Roger Marshall, Kansas
  16. Don Bacon, Nebraska
  17. Neal Dunn, Florida
  18. Dusty Johnson, South Dakota
  19. Jim Baird, Indiana
  20. Jim Hagedorn, Minnesota

Source: House Agriculture Committee, which is solely responsible for the information provided and is wholly owned by the source. Informa Business Media and all its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.