Wisconsin Agriculturist Logo

Wisconsin farmers honored in Oshkosh

The 2023 Master Agriculturist awards program was held March 30.

Fran O'Leary, Wisconsin Agriculturist Senior Editor

April 4, 2023

2 Min Read
Master Agriculturists Carol Hillan, Jim and Robin Seaquist, Marty Hallock, Eric Hillan, and Roger and Tammy Weiland
2023 MASTERS: Seven Wisconsin farmers earned the Master Agriculturist honor this year. They include (front, from left) Carol Hillan of Ladysmith and Jim and Robin Seaquist of Ellison Bay. Standing (from left) are Marty Hallock of Mondovi, Eric Hillan of Ladysmith, and Roger and Tammy Weiland of Columbus.FRAN O’LEARY

The Wisconsin Agriculturist — in partnership with Growmark FS; Twohig, Rietbrock, Schneider and Halbach SC of Chilton, Wis.; and Compeer Financial — presented the 2023 Master Agriculturist award to top achievers in farming, community service and leadership.

Recipients of the 2023 award are Marty Hallock of Mondovi, Wis.; Eric and Carol Hillan of Ladysmith, Wis.; Jim and Robin Seaquist of Ellison Bay, Wis.; and Roger and Tammy Weiland of Columbus, Wis. They were honored March 30 at La Sure’s Banquet Hall in Oshkosh, Wis.

The winners were selected for their proven ability and accomplishments as progressive farmers, as well as for the time, effort and leadership they contribute to their communities, churches and agricultural organizations.

The keynote speaker was Marieke Penterman, a dairy farmer, award-winning cheesemaker and owner of Marieke’s Gouda Cheese of Thorp, Wis. She spoke about the challenges and rewards of establishing a 450-cow dairy farm and business while juggling a family.

Wisconsin Agriculture Secretary Randy Romanski spoke about the importance of farming, family and leadership.

The Master Agriculturist award is given to honor not only the selected individuals, but also their families. The Master Agriculturist program is the oldest farm awards program in the state and is one of the longest-running career-achievement honors programs in U.S. agriculture. The award dates back 93 years to 1930, when Wisconsin Agriculturist first started honoring top Wisconsin farmers for their hard work, dedication, success in farming and exemplary leadership.

Nomination forms are already available for the 2024 awards. To obtain a form, call 920-960-9635, email [email protected], or write to: Wisconsin Agriculturist, 112 S. Prairie St., P.O. Box 236, Brandon, WI 53919.

The deadline for nominations for the 2024 award is Dec. 5.

Read more about:

Master Agriculturists

About the Author(s)

Fran O'Leary

Wisconsin Agriculturist Senior Editor, Farm Progress

Fran O’Leary lives in Brandon, Wis., and has been editor of Wisconsin Agriculturist since 2003. Even though O’Leary was born and raised on a farm in Illinois, she has spent most of her life in Wisconsin. She moved to the state when she was 18 years old and later graduated from the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater with a bachelor's degree in journalism.

Before becoming editor of Wisconsin Agriculturist, O’Leary worked at Johnson Hill Press in Fort Atkinson as a writer and editor of farm business publications and at the Janesville Gazette in Janesville as farm editor and a feature writer. Later, she signed on as a public relations associate at Bader Rutter in Brookfield, and served as managing editor and farm editor at The Reporter, a daily newspaper in Fond du Lac.

She has been a member of American Agricultural Editors’ Association (now Agricultural Communicators Network) since 2003.

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like