Dakota Farmer

The $1,000 grants will help the FFA members launch or expand ag businesses or projects.

May 13, 2020

2 Min Read
North Dakota FFA state officers Mikayla Wolfe, Tioga, Anna Stoppleworth, and Ben Van Berkom, present Ethan Schaffner and Tren
GRANT CHECKS: North Dakota FFA state officers (left) Mikayla Wolfe, Tioga, Anna Stoppleworth, Kindred, and (right) Ben Van Berkom, Des Lacs-Burlington, present Ethan Schaffner (holding check, left) and Trenton Erbele (holding check, right), both of Napoleon, with $1,000 grants for their Supervised Agriculture Experience projects.Courtesy of North Dakota FFA Foundation

The North Dakota FFA Foundation recently awarded 21 students in the state a $1,000 grant to aid in their agricultural businesses or projects.

The recipients of the Bakk Farm Supervised Agricultural Experience Grants show a wide range of diversity, including aquaculture, equine science, crop and beef production, candle making and pheasant raising.

“After reading the applications from this year’s applicants, it’s rewarding to know our $1,000 grants are going to students who are working hard to turn their passion into a possible lifelong career,” says Thomas Winders, ND FFA Foundation program coordinator. “The incredible things our youth in North Dakota are doing in the field of agriculture is absolutely impressive.” 

“These grants are very meaningful to a high school student in North Dakota,” says Cameron Young, Edgeley-Kulm High School’s agricultural educator. “The $1,000 that is awarded to a student allows them to turn what might be a hobby or passion for agriculture into a business or tangible experience.”

The 21 members who received these funds represent 14 different chapters and towns in North Dakota. 

The grants are made possible from rental income produced by land gifted to the North Dakota FFA Foundation by Fridjov Bakk in 1980. 

Students who received grants are:

  • Trenton Erbele, Napoleon

  • Kaje Gudmestad, Medina

  • Kaylee Kinsey, Bowman County

  • Jacob Kramer, Max

  • Lara Lane, Stanley

  • Karlee Sailer, Beulah

  • Joseph Schaefer, Oakes

  • Halle Sorenson, Stanley

  • Tyler Thompson, Oakes

  • Kaitlyn Bartholmy, Scranton

  • Allee Boyer, Edgeley-Kulm

  • Emily Carlson, Medina

  • Christy Finck, Grant County

  • Wyatt Kersten, Max

  • Logan Lapica, Stanley

  • Benjamin Lindbo, South Prairie;

  • Calli Mack, Medina

  • Chance Manhart, Golden Valley County;

  • Ethan Schaffner, Napoleon

  • Kaden Schauer, Hettinger

  • Caleb Woodrow, Munich

For more information about these grants and the North Dakota FFA Foundation, visit ndffafoundation.com.

Source: North Dakota FFA Foundation, which is solely responsible for the information provided and is wholly owned by the source. Informa Business Media and all its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset.

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like