Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: United States

Nomination period open for 2022 World Food Prize

World Food Prize Foundation World Food Prize logo
The World Food Prize is the highest honor an individual can receive in recognition of work in providing food for all.

The 2022 nomination period is now open for the internationally renowned World Food Prize. The Prize recognizes the accomplishments of individuals who have worked to improve the quality, quantity or availability of food for all.

“The World Food Prize Foundation annually seeks to elevate the work of leaders in agriculture and food systems working to feed the world in a sustainable and nutritious manner,” said Barbara Stinson, president of the World Food Prize Foundation. “We must honor accomplishments and progress and inspire further action.”

Nominations of worthy candidates are invited from public and private organizations, academic institutions, governmental organizations and businesses. Nomination criteria, the selection procedure and other information can be found at Nominations will be accepted through May 1, 2021, for the 2022 Prize.

In 2020, the World Food Prize was awarded to Dr. Rattan Lal of India and the United States. Lal is a proponent of innovative soil-saving techniques that have benefited the livelihoods of more than 500 million smallholder farmers, improved the food and nutritional security of more than two billion people and saved hundreds of millions of hectares of natural tropical ecosystems. “My feelings have been awestruck, professional pride, personal joy, a sense of accomplishment, the desire to do something more, and a sense of responsibility towards those who are deprived of their most basic human right, food,” said Lal about receiving the Prize.

In its 34-year history, the $250,000 award has been presented to 50 high-achieving individuals from 19 countries in fields ranging from crop and seed science advancements to humanitarian leadership to nutrition and public health.

Founded by Dr. Norman Borlaug in 1986, the World Food Prize is the highest honor that an individual can receive in recognition of exceptional achievements in improving the quality, quantity and availability of the world’s food supply. The 2021 award is planned to be presented at the World Food Prize Laureate Award Ceremony in Des Moines, Iowa, next October.

Source: World Food Prize Foundation, which is solely responsible for the information provided and is wholly owned by the source. Informa Business Media and all its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset. 
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.