South West Farm Press Logo

Texas Agricultural Lifetime Leadership graduation, awards event Aug. 13

Blair Fannin

July 20, 2021

2 Min Read
2018 Southwest Council of Agribusiness: Lynn County Grower Walt Haygood, center, thanks then-Chairman Mike Conaway, left, for his faith and his work on the farm bill, as John Roley, right, looks on. The Former U.S Congressman will receive the Texas Agricultural Lifetime Achievement Award Aug. 13 from the Texas Agricultural Lifetime Leadership, TALL, program.Shelley E. Huguley

Former U.S. Congressman Mike Conaway and former National Cattlemen’s Beef Association president Jim McAdams have been selected as recipients of leadership awards from the Governor Dolph Briscoe Jr. Texas Agricultural Lifetime Leadership, TALL, program of the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service.

Conaway will be honored with the Texas Agricultural Lifetime Achievement Award, while McAdams will receive the Distinguished TALL Alumnus Award at the Aug. 13 TALL XVI cohort graduation ceremony at the Texas A&M Hotel and Conference Center in College Station.

The ceremony will also honor the current graduating TALL class, which celebrates the completion of a two-year curriculum.

“Both Mike Conaway and Jim McAdams have made far-reaching agricultural contributions nationally and throughout Texas,” said Jim Mazurkiewicz, Ph.D., TALL program director. “Their leadership exemplifies what the TALL program stands for, and we are truly honored to recognize both of them as distinguished honorees.”

Conaway retired from Congress in 2020 after serving eight terms as U.S. Representative from District 11 in West Texas. Prior to his election to Congress, Conaway was a certified public accountant for more than 30 years in both public and private practice.

McAdams, a Huntsville native, is a 1972 graduate of Texas A&M University and served as officer and president of NCBA from 2000-2006. He also served as director and president of CattleFax from 1998-2004.

Preparing future agriculture leaders

TALL, a two-year program led by AgriLife Extension, provides intensive study of agriculture worldwide, enhancing industry professionals with leadership skills in their respective fields. Participants are represented from a cross-section of professional interests, including traditional crop producers, ranchers, bankers and attorneys, as well as those who work in lumber, food processing, agricultural corporations and horticultural industries from all geographic regions of Texas.

“TALL is a competitive leadership development program that includes seminars with experts, on-site visits, meetings with business and government leaders, international study and personal skills improvement,” Mazurkiewicz said.

Tickets for the evening graduation and awards dinner may be purchased in advance: $35 adults, $15 children by Aug. 9 at 979-845-1554 or email [email protected]. A reception will be held at 5:30 p.m., followed by the dinner program at 7 p.m.

Prior TALL Award Recipients

Texas Agricultural Lifetime Achievement Award:

  • Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo – 1999

  • Governor Dolph Briscoe Jr. – 2001

  • Hal Hillman – 2003

  • James Powell – 2005

  • Charlie Stenholm – 2007

  • Kika de la Garza – 2009

  • Larry Combest – 2011

  • Jim Prewitt – 2013

  • Marcus Hill – 2015

  • Bob Stallman – 2017

  • Dan Taylor – 2019

Distinguished TALL Alumni Award:

  • Mike Petter – 1999

  • Jimmie Wedel – 2001

  • Albert Purnell – 2003

  • Barry Evans – 2005

  • Ben Weinheimer – 2007

  • Charles Ring – 2009

  • Clint Robinson – 2011

  • Glenn Schur – 2013

  • Garry Merritt – 2015

  • Jennifer Yezak – 2017

  • Tanya Foerster – 2019

Source: is AgriLife TODAY, which is solely responsible for the information provided and is wholly owned by the source. Informa Business Media and all its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset.

Read more about:

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like