Farm Futures logo

New board members are from Minnesota, Illinois and Idaho.

November 15, 2016

2 Min Read

South Dakota crop and livestock farmer Brad Greenway will serve as the new chairman of the U.S. Farmers and Ranchers Alliance. Greenway represents the National Pork Board.


Greenway was elected at the USFRA board meeting on Nov. 8 in Kansas City, Mo., Other members of the new executive committee include: Vice Chairman: Chip Bowling, representing National Corn Growers Association; Treasurer: Scott VanderWal, representing American Farm Bureau Federation; Secretary: Roberta Simpson-Dolbeare, representing Illinois Soybean Association; Immediate Past Chairwoman: Nancy Kavazanjian, representing United Soybean Board; At-Large: Monty Henderson, representing U.S. Poultry and Egg Association; At-Large Partner: Mike Parrish, representing Monsanto.

"I'm humbled to serve as chairman of the U.S. Farmers & Ranchers Alliance and want to ensure that our farmers and ranchers continue to be present in influential conversations about food and agriculture," Greenway said. "As we dialogue with consumers and key influencers, it's necessary to maintain an assertive voice that 'breaks through' today's marketing hype and demonstrates shared values of sustainability and continuous improvement."

Of USFRA's 17-member Board of Directors, our new board members:

-Katie Brenny (Federation of State Beef Councils): Katie and her husband Ted live on a beef farm outside of Mazeppa, Minn., where they raise Charolais and Angus cows and calves.

-Phil Borgic (National Pork Producers Council): Phil is a hog farmer from Nokomis, Ill., and owner of Borgic Farms, Inc., which includes a sow herd and 210 acres of corn, soybeans and wheat.

-Galen Lee (American Sugarbeet Growers Association): Galen and his parents own and operate Sunnyside Farm, LLC, in New Plymouth, Idaho. In addition to 230 acres of sugarbeets, the 1,250-acre operation also raises asparagus, peppermint, alfalfa, corn silage, peas, dry corn, earlage and a 250-head dairy and 85 head cow/calf operation.

USFRA's Board of Directors, consisting primarily of farmers and ranchers, includes: Greenway, Bowling, Simpson-Dolbeare, VanderWal, Kavazanjian, Henderson, Parrish, Brenny, Borgic, Lee, Lisa Lunz (Nebraska Soybean Board), Charles Studer (John Deere), Chris Galen (National Milk Producers Federation), Todd Frazier (DuPont Pioneer), Jeanette Merritt (Indiana Soybean Alliance), and Gene Stoel (Minnesota Soybean Research & Promotion Council).

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like