Dakota Farmer

Most will serve two-year terms

October 2, 2019

2 Min Read

Twenty people have been appointed to serve on the Advisory Committee for New and Beginning Farmers and Ranchers. The newly appointed members serve terms of up to two years through 2021.

Newly appointed to serve two-year terms:

  1. Davon L. Goodwin, Raeford, N.C.

  2. Katie R. Carpenter, Attica, N.Y.

  3. Casey Spradley, Cuba, N.M.

  4. Jacob W. Handsaker, Radcliffe, Iowa

  5. Adam M. Brown, Decatur, Ill.

  6. Amanda Jo Carey, Morley, Mich.

  7. Paul Bickford, Ridgeway, Wisc.

  8. Jason Brand, Honolulu, Hawaii

  9. Jeffry R. Gittins, Smithfield, Utah

  10. Denis Ebodaghe (USDA NIFA)

  11. Latrice Hill (USDA FSA)

  12. R. Alan Hoskins, Evansville, Ind.

  13. Tony Gudajtes, Minto, N.D.

  14. Juli Obudzinski, Washington, D.C.

  15. John Bailey, Ukiah, Calif.

  16. Elicia L. Chaverest, Madison, Ala.

  17. Shelby Swain Myers, Crawfordsville, Ind.

  18. Liya Schwartzman, Sacramento, Calif.

  19. Anusuya Rangarajan, Freeville, N.Y.

  20. James Carl Hafer, Colstrip, Mont., is re-appointed to serve a one-year term.

“USDA welcomes the voices of this new advisory team,” said Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue. “The Committee’s recommendations have been, and will continue to be, thoughtful and representative of feedback from America’s farmers, ranchers, and stakeholders served by the department. New and beginning farmers are the future of American agriculture, and we must ensure they are successful.”

The Committee is made up of 20 members, including representatives for: state beginning farming programs; commercial lenders; private nonprofit organizations with active beginning farmer or rancher programs, the National Institute of Food and Agriculture; the Farm Service Agency; community colleges or other educational institutions with demonstrated experience in training beginning farmers and ranchers, and other entities or persons providing lending or technical assistance for qualified beginning farmers and ranchers. Congress authorized the Committee in 1992 and since its inception, the ACBFR has been an important part of the USDA strategy to engage, support and service new and beginning farmers. The Committee is funded by the Farm Service Agency. USDA’s Office of Partnerships and Public Engagement provides oversight which ensures fiscal accountability and program integrity.

Source: USDA, which is solely responsible for the information provided and is wholly owned by the source. Informa Business Media and all its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset. 

Read more about:

Beginning Farmers
Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like