Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: West
State Executive Director for Texas FSA, Gary Six, left, welcomes U.S. Sen. John Cornyn to the PCG meeting. 

PCG hosts annual meeting, elects officers, executive committee

Stacy Smith of New Home, Texas, re-elected.

More than 250 cotton growers, ginners, industry leaders, and others interested in cotton attended PCG’s 62nd Annual Meeting last Friday at the Lubbock Memorial Civic Center.

Attendees heard from food and science journalist Tamar Haspel, who challenged the audience to reconsider how they consume and respond to issues for debate, whether it’s in person or on social media, and to allow the opportunity for a change in perspective. Dr. Gary Adams, president and CEO of the National Cotton Council, updated the group on the U.S. Cotton Trust Protocol, an integrated data collection, measurement and verification procedure that will document U.S. cotton production practices and their environmental impact.

See photo gallery, Texas Cotton Ginners' Association, PCG host annual meetings

Sen. John Cornyn discussed several issues in Washington, DC, with the audience, and PCG recognized the Senator for his work among his fellow Senators to ensure cotton’s restoration to Title 1 of the 2014 Farm Bill. Berrye Worsham, president and CEO of Cotton Incorporated, gave a presentation with several videos and graphics demonstrating their efforts in marketing to consumers.

Tony St. James with All Ag, All Day recorded the meeting on video, available at or at


Stacy Smith of New Home was re-elected PCG president for 2019-2020 during PCG’s quarterly Board of Directors meeting after the Annual Meeting. Joining Smith on the PCG officer team are Brent Nelson of Sudan, re-elected vice president; and, Martin Stoerner of Lockney, re-elected secretary-treasurer of the 41-county cotton producer organization. The immediate past president Johnie Reed of Kress, serves as chairman of the board.

Each year the PCG Board also elects a total of nine directors, three from each of the organization’s three districts, to serve on the executive committee alongside the organization’s three elected officers and two most recent past presidents.

Members elected to the 2019-2020 PCG Executive Committee are: District 1 representatives Brent Coker of Springlake, Barry Evans of Kress, and Jon Jones of Floydada; District 2 representatives David Carter of Levelland, Scott Harmon of Idalou, and Travis Mires of O’Donnell; District 3 representatives Jeremy Brown of Lamesa, Carl Pepper of Borden County, and Johnny Ray Todd of Lamesa; President Stacy Smith of New Home, Vice President Brent Nelson of Sudan, Secretary-Treasurer Martin Stoerner of Lockney, Board Chairman Johnie Reed of Kress, and past President Shawn Holladay of Lamesa.

Source: is PCG, which is solely responsible for the information provided and is wholly owned by the source. Informa Business Media and all its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset.

TAGS: Cotton Gins
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.