Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: IA
scenic fields with rolling land and trees
COMMITMENT: This award recognizes the exemplary voluntary efforts of farmers as leaders committed to healthy soils and improved water quality.

Iowa Farm Environmental Leader Award deadline June 25

Nomination deadline is extended this year due to busier-than-usual spring for farmers.

Iowa Gov. Kim Reynolds, Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig and Department of Natural Resources Acting Director Bruce Trautman invite Iowans to nominate families in their communities for the 2019 Farm Environmental Leader Award.

Farmers who voluntarily take actions, like planting cover crops or installing conservation infrastructure in their fields, are eligible for this annual award. This year’s deadline to nominate a deserving farmer has been extended to June 25.

To qualify, individuals must make environmental stewardship a priority and incorporate best management practices into their farming operation. As true stewards of the land, they recognize that improved water quality and soil sustainability reaps benefits that extend beyond their fields to residents of Iowa and others even further downstream.

Winners set example

“Iowa farmers do an incredible job feeding and fueling the world in a way that’s sustainable and acknowledges important conservation practices,” Reynolds says. “They go above and beyond improving water quality and soil sustainability, which serves as a model for others to follow.”

Naig adds, “I commend the farmers who are using soil and water conservation practices that help us achieve the goals outlined in the Iowa Nutrient Reduction Strategy. The award recipients are leading by example and helping preserve Iowa farmland for the next generation.”

Trautman of the DNR says, “It’s always gratifying to be able to recognize the farmers who are voluntarily leading the way when it comes to protecting our land and water. Being conscientious of our natural resources will ensure a rich legacy for future generations.”

Nominate outstanding conservation farmer

An appointed committee of representatives from both conservation and ag groups will review the nominations and select the winners. The recipients will be recognized Aug. 14 at the Iowa State Fair. The number of farmers receiving this award varies year to year, as multiple award winners are recognized annually.

Since the creation of the award in 2012, more than 500 farm families have been recognized. Winners are presented a certificate as well as a yard sign donated by Bayer. The nomination form, a list of previous awardees and other information can be found at IDALS’ website

Source: IDALS, which is solely responsible for the information provided and is wholly owned by the source. Informa Business Media and all its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset.


Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.