Farm Futures logo

Elections held during board meeting last week.

December 13, 2010

1 Min Read

The Board of Directors of the American Soybean Association has confirmed Alan Kemper from Lafayette, Ind., as President and Rob Joslin from Sidney, Ohio, as Chairman. Board members also elected Steve Wellman from Syracuse, Neb., to serve as First Vice President, an office that places Wellman in line to be ASA President in 2012. Also elected were Randy Mann from Auburn, Ky., as Secretary, and Danny Murphy from Canton, Miss., as Treasurer.

Four Vice Presidents were also elected: Ray Gaesser from Corning, Iowa; Ron Kindred from Atlanta, Ill.; Joe Steiner from Mason, Ohio; and Bob Worth from Lake Benton, Minn. These soybean farmer-leaders form the nine-member ASA Executive Committee. Elections were held during last week's ASA winter Board of Director's meeting in Saint Louis.

The new ASA President, Alan Kemper, predicts that it's going to be a bright future for the U.S. soybean industry. Kemper pledged ASA will continue to do everything it can to make sure soybean farmers have a viable operation and a good chance of continued profitability on their farmstead. As for negotiating the next farm bill, Kemper said we need to make sure farmers have risk management tools to allow them and their younger generations to adequately protect their farm.

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like