Farm Progress is part of the divisionName Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: NE
Chuck Hibberd (left), dean and director of Nebraska Extension, poses with J. Scott Angle, director of the National Institute of Food and Agriculture, during the NIFA Hall of Fame ceremony April 25 in Washington, D.C. IANR News
HALL OF FAME: Chuck Hibberd (left), dean and director of Nebraska Extension, poses with J. Scott Angle, director of the National Institute of Food and Agriculture, during the NIFA Hall of Fame ceremony April 25 in Washington, D.C.

Extension dean and director inducted into NIFA Hall of Fame

Nebraska Digest: NeCGA announces FLAGship Program winners; Cattlemen Foundation awards scholarships.

Chuck Hibberd, dean and director of Nebraska Extension, was recently inducted into USDA's National Institute of Food and Agriculture Hall of Fame.

The Hall of Fame was established in 2011 to recognize individuals whose exceptional contributions to the institute’s mission have made a positive effect.

Before assuming his current role in 2012, Hibberd was director of Extension and associate dean of agriculture at Purdue University. He also was director of the Panhandle Research and Extension Center in Scottsbluff, Neb.

Most recently, Hibberd is coordinating the University of Nebraska's effort to help recovery after widespread flooding. Hibberd received a bachelor's degree in agriculture from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, and a master's degree in animal science and doctoral degree in animal nutrition from Oklahoma State University.

NeCGA announces FLAGship Program winners

The Nebraska Corn Growers Association recently announced winners of the 2019 Future Leaders in Agriculture Scholarship Program (FLAGship Program). The NeCGA Grower Services Committee chose five applicants to each receive a $2,000 scholarship.

Recipients include Korbin Kudera of Clarkson, studying agronomy at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Justin Mensik of Morse Bluff, studying diversified agriculture at Northeast Community College; Layne Miller of Oakland, studying agribusiness at UNL; Chad Niemeier of Beatrice studying agronomy at UNL; and Tanner Nun of Geneva, studying agricultural education at UNL.

To be eligible, students must be an NeCGA member or son or daughter of an NeCGA member. Recipients must be a high school senior or college freshman continuing their education in Nebraska.

Nebraska Cattlemen Foundation awards scholarships 

The Nebraska Cattlemen Foundation recently announced $56,200 in scholarships to students for the 2019-20 academic year.

McKenzie Beals Weber of Friend received the $10,000 Nebraska Cattlemen Beef State Scholarship.

Winning $1,000 Retail Value Steer Challenge scholarships were Henry Beel of Johnstown, Sheldon Beierman of Albion, Jamie Bonifas of Blue Hill, Taylor Cammack of DeWitt, Ashtyn Cooper of Elmwood, Jacy Hafer of Anselmo, Kaitlyn Hansen of North Platte, Emily Hatterman of Wisner, Kathlyn Hauxwell of McCook, Brea Hostert of Atkinson, TaraLee Hudson of Belvidere, Colin Ibach of Sumner, Loyal Johnson of Burr, Natalie Jones of Stapleton, Marissa Kegley of Kearney, Felicia Knoerzer of Elwood, Korbin Kudera of Clarkson, Weston Kunkee of Lexington, Tanner Lemke of Lawrence, Kelsey Loseke of Blair, Laura Reiling of Lincoln, Jace Stagemeyer of Page, Jacqueline Stauffer of Ashland, Ralston Ripp of Kearney, Megan Schroeder of Wisner and Elizabeth Yrkoski of Fullerton.

Brittany Reynolds of Ansley received the $1,000 West Central Affiliate Scholarship.

Several $1,200 scholarships also were awarded:

  • Jais Ford of Cody and Shalyn Miller of Norfolk received Donavan Yoachim Memorial scholarships.
  • Lydia Vinton of Whitman received the Todd Ricenbaw Memorial Scholarship.
  • Kyle Henderson of Scottsbluff and Amanda Most of Ogallala received Robert F. Lute II Memorial scholarships.
  • Colten Bergt of Amherst received the Martin Viersen Range Management/Conservation Memorial Scholarship.
  • Corey Conway of Campbell received the Frank and Shirley Sibert Scholarship.
  • Caitlyn Deal of Sidney received the Bill Pullen Scholarship.
  • Austin Freeman of Pierce received the Nebraska Cattlemen Beef Pit Scholarship.
  • Eric Klitz of West Point received the Bill Briggs Family Memorial Scholarship.
  • Malina Lindstrom of Elm Creek received the Ron and Shirley Huss Scholarship.
  • Joshua Sebade of Emerson received the Col. Melvin Huss Memorial Scholarship.
  • Isaac Stallbaumer of Oconto received the Cattlemen’s Open Scholarship.
  • Colton Thompson of Eustis received the Bill Heller Memorial Scholarship.
  • Wesley Wach of Wauneta received the Clarence and Lois Jean Hartmann Scholarship.
  • Anna Whyman of Lincoln received the Jim and Helen Gran Scholarship.
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.