Farm Progress

Washington County grabs tenth straight win

December 6, 2017

1 Min Read
Arkansas Farm Bureau Vice President Rich Hillman, left, and President Randy Veach, right, present the Outstanding County Women's Program award to Washington County Women’s Committee President Mary Royal.

The Arkansas Farm Bureau Women’s Committee from Washington County has won its tenth consecutive Outstanding County Women’s Program award. The group was recognized Nov. 30, during Arkansas Farm Bureau’s eighty-third Annual Conference at the Statehouse Convention Center in Little Rock.

Committee Chairwoman Mary Royal accepted the award for Washington County. “Everyone on the committee is so helpful,” Royal said. “We get great participation.”

Each year, Arkansas Farm Bureau honors the county Women’s Committee that exhibits exemplary support of its county organization, activities and goals. Farm Bureau women help accomplish the organization’s mission by working with local schools and educating children about agriculture and where people get their food, fiber and fuel. From a variety of Ag in the Classroom activities to informing people how safe and affordable our food is, the women of Farm Bureau enthusiastically represent the organization by telling the farming and ranching story.

Cindy Rucker of Garland County Farm Bureau Women’s Committee received the Arkansas Farm Bureau Women’s Diamond Award. The award was created to honor a county Farm Bureau leader whose volunteer efforts are above and beyond the norm. Rucker is the co-chairwoman of the county women’s committee. Her passion is 4-H and promoting youth ag activities.

Source: Arkansas Farm Bureau

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like