Kansas Farmer Logo

The contest includes live market animal carcass predictions and pricing, breeding animal evaluation and a meat judging competition.

April 10, 2023

3 Min Read
Members of K-State National Champion Meat Animal Evaluation Team behind table holding awards
NATIONAL CHAMPIONS: Members of the National Champion Meat Animal Evaluation Team from Kansas State University stand behind a table holding the awards won by the team and individual team members. Courtesy of Kansas State University Department of Animal Sciences and Industry

The Kansas State University Meat Animal Evaluation Team won National Champion honors at the 2023 Collegiate Meat Animal Evaluation Contest hosted in Canyon, Texas. The team was recognized March 28 following the three-day competition.

The event, previously known as the Aksarben contest, now rotates among host institutions across the country. The competition includes live market animal carcass predictions and pricing, breeding animal evaluation and meat judging competition, and it serves as a capstone judging experience for students by incorporating so many industry-applicable concepts.

In the photo above, members of the K-State National Champion Meat Animal Evaluation Team are front row: Macie Weigand (left), Monona, Iowa, assistant coach; Weston Schrader, Wells, Kan.; Delaney Shaw, Tulare, Calif.; Katrina Tucker, Hopkins, Mich.; Chesney Effling, Highmore, S.D.; Ellie Kidwell, Walhonding, Ohio; Jacey Massey, Alberta, Canada; Jade Parrish, Parrish, Fla.; Rebecca Donaldson, Berryton, Kan.; Alex Scovill, Laingsburg, Mich.; and Erin Beyer, assistant, coach. In the back row are Chris Mullinix (left), Manhattan, Kan., coach; Lane Howe, Fort Gibson, Okla.; Whitney Watts, Wesson, Miss.; Sarah Kalman, Chico, Calif.; Charles Bunker, Mebane, N.C.; Luke Harker, Hope, Ind.; Trey Conley, Clarksdale, Mo.; Will Banks, Cynthiana, Ky.; Trevor Johnson, Centerville, S.D.; Riley Krehbiel, Kingman, Kan.; Brody Nemecek, Iola, Kan.; and Travis O’Quinn, Manhattan, Kan., coach.

The team placed first in the breeding, beef, sheep, swine, market and communication divisions of the contest. Individually, K-State had five members place in the top 10 overall, including the top four individuals. Brody Nemecek, Iola, Kan., was first; Ellie Kidwell, Walhonding, Ohio, second; Luke Harker, Hope, Ind., third; and Jade Parrish, Parrish, Fla., fourth. (Complete individual and team results are below.)

“The Meat Animal Evaluation contest is the most comprehensive test of students’ knowledge of the factors that impact production of meat from livestock. Many of the students that compete in this contest have already demonstrated excellence in animal and/or meat evaluation, and this annual opportunity for them to pull their knowledge, education and past training together make this a true capstone experience for all,” says Mike Day, K-State Animal Sciences and Industry department head. “The capacity for all-inclusive consideration of product value as impacted by genetics and management is crucial to economic efficiency of meat production. Congratulations to our K-State students and coaches for their high level of excellence in this competition winning national champion honors six out of the last seven years.”

The team is coached by Travis O’Quinn, K-State associate professor; and Chris Mullinix, assisted by Erin Beyer and Macie Weigand.

Individual results

Here are the individual contest winners and the categories in which they received awards:

  • Brody Nemecek, Iola, Kan. First, overall; first, breeding; ninth, market; second, sheep; and fourth, swine.

  • Ellie Kidwell, Walhonding, Ohio. Second, overall; second market; and second, swine.

  • Jade Parrish, Parrish, Fla. Fourth, overall; third, market; seventh, sheep; and sixth, swine.

  • Weston Schrader, Wells, Kan. Sixth, overall; and third, beef.

  • Will Banks, Cynthiana, Ky. Tenth, sheep.

  • Riley Krehbiel, Kingman, Kan. Fifth, sheep; and ninth, swine.

  • Sarah Kalman, Chico, Calif. Second, beef; and fourth, market.

  • Trevor Johnson, Centerville, S.D. First, market; and 10th, swine.

  • Katrina Tucker, Hopkins, Mich. Fifth, market; and third, sheep.

  • Chesney Effling, Highmore, S.D. First, beef; and third, meats.

  • Rebecca Donaldson, Berryton, Kan. Ninth, beef.

  • Jacey Massey, Alberta, Canada. Tenth, market.

  • Alex Scovill, Laingsburg, Mich. Sixth, beef.

Other team members include: Charles Bunker, Mebane, N.C.; Trey Conley, Clarksdale, Mo.; Lane Howe, Fort Gibson, Okla.; Delaney Shaw, Tulare, Calif.; and Whitney Watts, Wesson, Miss.

Source: Kansas State University Department of Animal Sciences and Industry.

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like