Michigan Farmer Logo

Award recognizes outstanding farm management, innovation, conservation and leadership.

Jennifer Kiel, Editor, Michigan Farmer

February 4, 2019

5 Slides

Farmers are not used to being cast into the spotlight. They generally are more comfortable just getting the job done. You could feel that as three deserving, yet humbled, people were honored Jan. 31 with agriculture’s highest honor of being named Master Farmers.

Despite the bitter cold outside, more than 1,200 farmers and others involved in agriculture gathered Jan. 30-31 at the Great Lakes Crop Summit, which was the setting for the luncheon ceremony. The summit and the awards program are supported by the Michigan Soybean Promotion Committee, Michigan Wheat Program and Corn Marketing Program of Michigan.

For the past 15 years, Michigan Farmer has recognized Master Farmers for outstanding farm management, innovation, conservation and leadership.

This year’s winners are M. Dean Haubenstricker of Frankenmuth, C. Bruce Noll of Sheridan and James Domagalski of Columbus.

The award acknowledges a lifetime of achievement and not a single year. Master Farmers are nominated by their peers and are chosen by a committee of agriculture industry leaders.

Master Farmers received a plaque and pin from Michigan Farmer magazine and a Carhartt jacket, donated by Carhartt. They also received a $1,000 check, made possible by sponsors Michigan Agricultural Commodities, Greenstone Farm Credit Services and Wilbur-Ellis.

All three farmers are featured in the February issue of Michigan Farmer.

Videos have been developed by Nicole Heslip and Shannon Yokley of Brownfield Ag News to help tell their stories. View those videos at https://brownfieldagnews.com/news/2019-michigan-master-farmers-honored/.

Master Farmer History
2005. Fred Tubbs, Mark Huggett, Walter Stafford

2006. Dennis Hasenick, Bob Dykhuis, Dave Morris (honorary)

2007. Pete Clark, Wally Huggett, Armon Southworth

2008. John Crumbaugh, Todd Young, Kurt Ewald

2009. Andy Snider, Dale Weburg, George Weburg, Clark Humrich

2010. Paul Rood, Jeffery Sandborn, Carl Moore

2011. Ken Swanson, Gary Bardenhagen, Bill Irrer

2012. Ronald Helmreich, John Felzke, Frank Lipinski

2013. Earl Barks, John Swanson, Tony Jandernoa

2014. Richard Dobbins, John Schaendorf, Harley Sietsema

2015. Olan and Kent Humm, Robert “Alan” Moore, Richard Lauwers

2016. Delbert Crumbaugh, Brian Haskin, Andy Welden

2017. Tim Brodbeck, David Williams, Ken and Ida Wadsworth

2018. Ed Cagney, Tom Braid, Robert Ohse

2019. Bruce Noll, Dean Haubenstricker, Jim Domagalski

About the Author(s)

Jennifer Kiel

Editor, Michigan Farmer

While Jennifer is not a farmer and did not grow up on a farm, "I think you'd be hard pressed to find someone with more appreciation for the people who grow our food and fiber, live the lifestyles and practice the morals that bind many farm families," she says.

Before taking over as editor of Michigan Farmer in 2003, she served three years as the manager of communications and development for the American Farmland Trust Central Great Lakes Regional Office in Michigan and as director of communications with Michigan Agri-Business Association. Previously, she was the communications manager at Michigan Farm Bureau's state headquarters. She also lists 10 years of experience at six different daily and weekly Michigan newspapers on her impressive resume.

Jennifer lives in St. Johns with her two daughters, Elizabeth, 19, and Emily 16.

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like