American Agriculturist Logo

Dr. Peter Wilcoxen of Syracuse University receives a one-year extension

October 17, 2019

2 Min Read
empty boardroom

EPA Administrator Andrew Wheeler has announced the names of the people who will serve on the Science Advisory Board.

“After an open and transparent public process, EPA has appointed or reappointed experts from a wide range of scientific disciples who reflect the geographic diversity needed to ensure the SAB represents all ten EPA regions,” Wheeler said.

Those nominees willing to serve have been vetted for potential conflicts of interest and each has committed to remain financially independent from EPA grants during their tenure.

The Process

The nomination period for the SAB closed on June 26, 2019. The SAB Staff Office identified 33 candidates that have confirmed interest to serve on the board. Each of the candidates have submitted bio-sketches and their curricula vitae. The list of candidates was posted on the SAB website for a 21-day public comment period that closed on Oct. 9, 2019.

The Science Advisory Board

In FY 2019, the SAB had 45 members. Of those, 33 members have terms that do not expire and thus remain on the board. Of the remaining members from FY 2018, four completed their terms of service, one resigned, and seven – appointed during the Obama administration – are timing out of the first term and will be reappointed to serve for a second three-year term.

In addition, Wheeler is reappointing Dr. Peter Wilcoxen, for a one-year extension. Dr. Wilcoxen’s extension will allow him to finish serving as the chair of a recently initiated panel on Computational General Equilibrium. Dr. Wilcoxen will continue to lead a review underway assessing and analyzing an Economic Model used in regulatory analyses. Three new board members (one each from the federal government, a state, and a non-governmental organization) were selected by Wheeler. This brings the total SAB membership to 44 for FY 2020. Dr. Michael Honeycutt will remain as the SAB Chairman.

Reappointed SAB Members

  • Deborah Hall Bennett, University of California, Davis

  • Joel Burken, Missouri University of Science and Technology

  • Janice Chambers, Mississippi State University

  • Alison Cullen, University of Washington

  • Otto Doering III, Purdue University

  • Joseph Gardella, University of Buffalo

  • Clyde Martin, Texas Tech University

  • Peter Wilcoxen, Syracuse University, receives a one-year extension.

New SAB Members

  • Margaret MacDonnell, Argonne National Laboratory

  • Mara Seeley, Massachusetts Dept of Public Health

  • Carrie Vollmer-Sanders, The Nature Conservancy

Source: EPA, which is solely responsible for the information provided and is wholly owned by the source. Informa Business Media and all its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset. 

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like