Sponsored By
Wallaces Farmer

Search on for Iowa Master Farmer candidatesSearch on for Iowa Master Farmer candidates

Each year, the Wallaces Farmer and Iowa Master Farmers Association selects deserving candidates for the Iowa Master Farmer award. The 2024 nominations are due Sept. 15.

Jennifer Carrico

July 6, 2023

2 Min Read
Master Farmer medallion
MASTER FARMERS: Candidates are being sought for the 2024 Iowa Master Farmer Award. Jennifer Carrico

Each year since 1926, Wallaces Farmer has recognized Iowa Master Farmers. With the motto “Good Farming, Clear Thinking, Right Living,” farmers are selected for this prestigious award. Nominations for the 2024 Iowa Master Farmer award are due Sept. 15.

Candidates should have a profitable farming operation, have clear thinking to manage the farm, and take care of their land and farm, while having a strong family and being involved in the community.

Neighbors, friends, family or business colleagues may nominate a Master Farmer candidate, or candidates may nominate themselves. Candidates can be individuals, couples or siblings farming in partnership. Candidates who do not receive the award the year they are nominated are welcome to be resubmitted, or resubmit themselves, in following years. The Iowa Master Farmer Foundation provides judges to select recipients.

Along with the nomination form, you need a minimum of four letters of support, including one from a neighboring farmer. The selection committee comprises Iowa agricultural leaders, including experts in agronomy and agricultural finance, past Master Farmers, agricultural research or university authorities and Wallaces Farmer editorial staff.

The 2024 nomination form is available online. Download the form, complete it with the letters of support and send it to [email protected] by Sept. 15.

Selection of Master Farmer candidates

Here are the criteria for Master Farmer candidates:

  • Candidates must farm in Iowa, deriving most of their income from agricultural production.

  • Successful nominees will have proven agricultural production records, be recognized as leaders in their community, and will have given back to the community in substantive ways.

  • Candidates may be individuals, couples or siblings; judging is equally weighted.

  • Each nominee should be actively engaged in production agriculture.

The Iowa Master Farmer Association will also be accepting nominations for the Iowa Master Farmer Exceptional Service Award, which can be done through recommendation letters.

The Iowa Master Farmer awards are sponsored by Growmark and honored each year by Wallaces Farmer and the Iowa Master Farmer Association.

About the Author(s)

Jennifer Carrico

Editor, Wallaces Farmer

Jennifer lives on a farm near Redfield, Iowa, where she runs a small cow-calf operation with her family. A 20-plus year ag journalism veteran, Jennifer has covered a wide range of agriculture issues. A graduate of Iowa State University, she has worked for local daily papers and other agriculture publishers. She came to Wallaces Farmer from the Iowa Cattlemen’s Association. She enjoys writing, managing cattle, and hearing and telling farmer stories.

Jennifer has two children. Kassidy, 21, attends Black Hawk East College, but will transfer in the fall to Oklahoma State University. Son, Klayton, attends Panorama High School where he excels in academics, sports, FFA and 4-H.

“My favorite part of being an ag journalist is to tell the story of the farmer and rancher,” she says. “The farmer and rancher do the work to make the food, fiber and fuel for everyone. I want to use our online presence to broaden that message to those off the farm.”

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like