Wisconsin Agriculturist Logo

Meet the 2016 Master Agriculturists

Winners will be recognized March 30 in Oshkosh

Fran O'Leary, Wisconsin Agriculturist Senior Editor

March 21, 2016

2 Min Read

The Wisconsin Agriculturist, in partnership with the Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board, the ag law firm of Twohig, Rietbrock, Schneider and Halbach, S.C., of Chilton, and Badgerland Financial, proudly presents the 2016 Master Agriculturist award to four top achievers in farming, community service and leadership.

The Master Agriculturist program is the state's oldest farm awards program and is one of the longest run career-achievement honors programs in American agriculture, dating back to 1930 when the Wisconsin Agriculturist first started honoring Wisconsin farmers for their hard work, dedication, success in farming and exemplary leadership.


Congratulations to Dick Cates of Spring Green, Mark Dietsche of Bloomer, Ken Feltz of Stevens Point and Hank Wagner of Oconto Falls.

All four winners have worn many hats in their businesses and communities, have built top-notch farming operations, and are truly deserving of receiving the Master Agriculturist award.

Awards program
The 2016 honorees will be recognized at an awards luncheon on Wednesday, March 30, at the La Sure’s Hall in Oshkosh during the Wisconsin Public Service Farm Show held at the nearby Experimental Aircraft Association Grounds. The keynote speaker is former Green Bay Packer George Koonce, who is currently vice president of advancement at Marian University in Fond du Lac.

The winners were selected for their proven ability and accomplishments as progressive farmers, and also for the time, effort and leadership they contribute to community, church and agricultural organizations.

The Master Agriculturist award is given to honor not only the selected individuals, but also their families.

The Master Agriculturist process begins by requesting a nomination form.

Forms already are available for the 2017 awards. To obtain a form, go online to www.FarmProgress.com, call 920-346-2285, email [email protected], or write to: Master Agriculturist, Wisconsin Agriculturist, 112 S. Prairie St., P.O. Box 236, Brandon, WI 53919.

About the Author(s)

Fran O'Leary

Wisconsin Agriculturist Senior Editor, Farm Progress

Fran O’Leary lives in Brandon, Wis., and has been editor of Wisconsin Agriculturist since 2003. Even though O’Leary was born and raised on a farm in Illinois, she has spent most of her life in Wisconsin. She moved to the state when she was 18 years old and later graduated from the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater with a bachelor's degree in journalism.

Before becoming editor of Wisconsin Agriculturist, O’Leary worked at Johnson Hill Press in Fort Atkinson as a writer and editor of farm business publications and at the Janesville Gazette in Janesville as farm editor and a feature writer. Later, she signed on as a public relations associate at Bader Rutter in Brookfield, and served as managing editor and farm editor at The Reporter, a daily newspaper in Fond du Lac.

She has been a member of American Agricultural Editors’ Association (now Agricultural Communicators Network) since 2003.

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like