Farm Progress

Farm Progress honored with Mackiewicz Award by North American Agricultural Journalists

Farm Progress staff

April 17, 2024

1 Min Read
Mackiewicz Award by North American Agricultural Journalists
Des Keller, NAAJ immediate past president, handing Tim Hearden, Western Farm Press editor, the Audrey Mackiewicz Special Award.NAAJ

Farm Progress, an entity of Informa Markets, has been recognized with the prestigious Audrey Mackiewicz Special Award, bestowed annually by North American Agricultural Journalists (NAAJ). The announcement was made during a reception at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C. on April 15. This award highlights Farm Progress' expanded coverage of organic and sustainable agriculture issues, notably through the acquisition of the annual Organic Grower Summit and editorial reporting on organic farming content.

In its endeavor to advance the agricultural landscape, Farm Progress initiated a significant shift in 2023. By acquiring the Organic Grower Summit, hosted annually in Monterey, Calif., it expanded its coverage to encompass organic and sustainable production. The conference is a dynamic platform, diving into crucial topics like pest management, production challenges and technological advancements.

“At Farm Progress, we are very excited about acquiring the Organic Grower Summit,” said Don Tourte, Farm Progress senior vice president of sales and events. “It strengthens our commitment to organic crops. I look forward to seeing how we continue to grow and expand in this key market segment.”

Farm Progress's commitment to exploring new avenues in the agricultural industry through organic and sustainable coverage highlights its dedication to broadening the scope and elevating the discourse in agricultural journalism.

The 2024 Organic Grower Summit will be held Dec. 4-5 in Monterey. This will mark the event’s seventh consecutive year.The NAAJ, established in 1952, is a prominent association of agricultural editors and writers, championing the highest ideals of journalism and agricultural coverage. The Audrey Mackiewicz Special Award, named in honor of NAAJ's first female president, recognizes the substantial contributions of entities like Farm Progress in enriching agricultural coverage.

Read more about:

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like