Nebraska Farmer Logo

Nebraska Digest: Chancellor elected NPPA president; Nebraskans honored as 4R Advocates.

March 18, 2019

2 Min Read
cargo shipyard
ADVISORY COUNCIL NAMED: UNL's Clayton Yeutter Institute of International Trade and Finance recently announced its inaugural advisory council members. thitivong/getyimages

The University of Nebraska-Lincoln's Clayton Yeutter Institute of International Trade and Finance recently announced 13 inaugural members of its advisory council.

The members will provide strategic counsel to the director on the institute's formation and programming. The inaugural members are:

  • Edward Alden, Ross distinguished visiting professor at Western Washington University and senior fellow at the Council on Foreign Relations

  • Tim Andriesen, managing director of agricultural products at CME Group

  • Kelly Brunkhorst, executive director at the Nebraska Corn Board and Nebraska Corn Growers Association

  • Andrea Durkin, founder of Sparkplug LLC, editor-in-chief at TradeVistas, and adjunct associate professor at Georgetown University's School of Foreign Service

  • Dan Fulton, retired CEO of Weyerhaeuser Co.

  • Veronica A. Haggart, retired international trade lawyer, former commissioner on the U.S. International Trade Commission

  • Mark Jensen, president and CEO of Farm Credit Services of America and Frontier Farm Credit

  • Katrin Kuhlmann, president and founder of New Markets Lab, adjunct professor at Georgetown University Law Center, and lecturer on law at Harvard Law School

  • Kenneth I. Levinson, executive director of the Washington International Trade Association

  • Warren H. Maruyama, partner at Hogan Lovells

  • Joe Stone, executive vice president and chief risk officer at Cargill

  • Ambassador Darci Vetter, vice chair for agriculture, food and trade at Edelman

  • Cristena Bach Yeutter

Chancellor elected NPPA president

Tim Chancellor of Broken Bow was elected president of the Nebraska Pork Producers Association at its annual meeting in February. Joining Chancellor as NPPA's new leaders are president-elect John Csukker of Columbus, environmental service manager for The Maschhoffs; and vice president Shana Beattie of Beattie Family Farms near Sumner.

Newly elected directors include Matt Marquardt of Tekamah and Ali Prochaska of David City. Chad Johnson of Norfolk and Mark Wright of Fremont will serve as first and second alternate directors.

Chancellor, the wean/finish supervisor for Thomas Livestock Co., first was elected to the Board of Directors in 2014. He is a member of the Executive, Finance and Legislative committees for the NPPA, has served as a National Pork Board delegate, and represented NPPA on a foreign trade mission to Japan.

Nebraskans honored as 4R Advocates

The Fertilizer Institute recently named five farmer and retailer pairs as 4R Advocates. These duos have demonstrated implementation of innovative and sustainable 4R fertilizer management practices on the farm to increase agriculture production while reducing environmental effects.

Nebraskans Brian Herbek, who farms near Deweese, and Bill Nejezchleb of Fairfield Non-Stock Co-op — along with four other grower and retailer pairs — were honored as 2019 4R Advocates at the Commodity Classic in Orlando, Fla.

Now in its eighth year, the 4R Advocate program has recognized 80 growers and retailers, farming 176,095 acres in 20 states.

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like