Sponsored By
Delta Farm Press Logo

UPS president and CEO to address Delta Council Annual MeetingUPS president and CEO to address Delta Council Annual Meeting

Delta Council Annual Meeting to be held on June 7.

Brad Robb

May 16, 2019

1 Min Read
At the 2018 Delta Council Annual Meeting, in-coming Delta Council President Woods Eastland presented a plaque of appreciation to outgoing President George King from Chatham, Miss. Eastland’s term as president of the Delta Council will end at the annual meeting on June 7.Brad Robb

The 2019 Delta Council Annual Meeting will be held on Friday, June 7, at the Bologna Performing Arts Center, Delta State University, Cleveland, Miss. Activities will commence at 9:15 a.m. with a Salute to Delta Honor Graduates. Delta Council President, Woods Eastland, will open the General Session at 10:30 a.m. with an official welcome and remarks.

Eastland will be followed by the annual recognition of the Good Middling Recipient and the introduction of the 2019-20 Delta Council officers.

David Abney, chairman and chief executive officer, United Parcel Service, will deliver this year’s keynote address. “David was born in Cleveland, Miss., attended Pillow Academy, near Greenwood, Miss., and started his career with UPS as a part-time package loader at the Greenville sorting center while attending Delta State University. It is both an honor and privilege to have one of the Delta’s own successful citizens and Delta State University alumnus deliver the keynote address at this our 84th annual meeting,” says Eastland.

“Today he guides the world’s largest global transportation network with an air fleet of more than 500 aircraft and a ground fleet of more than 119,000 vehicles. I look forward to him sharing his message of hard work and success with those attending this year’s meeting.”

The always anticipated catfish luncheon on the Quadrangle Lawn will begin at noon.

Sponsors for this year’s Delta Council Meeting include: BankPlus; Catfish Farmers of Mississippi; Cotton Incorporated; Delta State University; Mississippi Corn Promotion Board; Mississippi Rice Promotion Board; Mississippi Soybean Promotion Board; Sanders; Southern Ag Credit; and Mississippi Land Bank.

For more information about the 2019 Delta Council Annual Meeting, log on to www.deltacouncil.org.

About the Author(s)

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like