Nebraska Farmer Logo

Both will serve five-year terms on the board that administers state's wheat checkoff.

September 25, 2014

1 Min Read

Gov. Dave Heinemann this fall appointed Bob Delsing of Hemingford and Steve Wiese of Wilber as directors for Districts 1 and 6, respectively, on the Nebraska Wheat Board.

Delsing, his wife, Karen, now deceased, and their three children, Amy, Tad and Scott, raised dryland wheat, corn and cattle on their farm and ranch operation in Dawes and Box Butte counties.


Delsing his son, Scott, still work the land originally homesteaded by their family in the 1890s. Bob is also a member of the Nebraska Wheat Growers Association, the United Methodist Church of Hemingford, the American Legion, the Nebraska Farm Bureau, the Nebraska Rural Radio and National Farmers Union. He is a past board member of the Hemingford Coop Telephone Company, Hemingford Rural Fire Protection and the Dawes County Rural School District No. 47.

Wiese, his wife, Lynn, and his step daughters, Bailey and Shannon, run a diversified operation raising wheat, corn, soybeans, hay and cattle. He's served on local, state and national level leadership positions and action teams with the Nebraska Corn Growers. He's also served on the Village of Clatonia Town Board and the Volunteer Fire Department. Wiese will be the Nebraska Wheat Board's representative to the 25x25 Energy Committee.

Members of the board are appointed by the governor to serve a five-year term.

The Nebraska Wheat Board administers the checkoff of 0.4% of net value of wheat marketed in Nebraska at the point of first sale. The board invests the funds in programs of international and domestic market development and improvement, policy development, research, promotion and education.

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like