Farm Progress

CWC leaders have input in the statewide wheat group, plus national wheat organizations and national issues.

June 26, 2017

1 Min Read

The California Wheat Commission (CWC) will conduct district elections this July and August for the positions of commissioner and alternate commissioner for three grower districts.

The CWC election districts include: District 3 – Amador, El Dorado, Placer, Nevada, Sacramento, and Solano; District 5 –Monterey, San Benito, San Francisco, San Luis Obispo, San Mateo, Santa Barbara, Santa Cruz, Santa Clara, and Ventura; and District 8 – Kern, Los Angeles, Riverside, and San Bernardino.

According to the CWC, a qualified candidate is any California wheat grower during any of the preceeding three marketing seasons who resides or farms in the district with an open seat.

Nomination petitions are available on the CWC's website website in the News/Info section, by email at [email protected], or by phone at (530) 661-1292.

Nomination petitions must be returned to the Commission by July 14, 2017.

Involvement in the CWC allows producers to help determine the commission’s priorities. Elected leaders also have input in several national wheat organizations and national issues.

The term of office is three years for commissioners and alternates.

During the election, wheat growers will also vote on vacancies for the alternate commissioner positions in District 6 (Fresno County) and District 8 (Kern, Los Angeles, and Riverside counties).

For more information, contact the CWC at (530) 661-1292.

The CWC was started in 1983 to expand domestic and international markets for California-grown wheat and support research to improve California wheat quality and marketability.

The Commission operates under the California Food and Agriculture Code, and is funded by wheat grower assessments.

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like