Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: IN

Indiana Master Farmer's granddaughter will lead Indiana FFA

Indiana Master Farmer's granddaughter will lead Indiana FFA
Kenzie Kretzmeier elected Indiana FFA President for 2015-2016 at convention.

Seven outstanding young men and women left the stage for the final time Thursday afternoon after installing seven equally talented young people to their respective offices. This happened just after the Indiana FFA delegate body approved the slate of officers, with Kenzie Kretzmeier as the new president of Indiana FFA.

The slate was so popular that the secretary stopped the voting report after the first six districts reported. With no 'no' votes, majority was reached at that point.

Kretzmeier, Fowler, recently graduated from Benton Central FFA. Her advisor is Amanda Mullins. Her parents are John and Kristy Kretzmeier.

Jacket change: Kenzie Kretzmeier has changed this District IV jacket for the Indiana FFA Association state president's jacket.

What not everyone knows is that her maternal grandparents received the Master Farmer award in 1997. George Krom III and his wife, Nancy, Rochester, introduced their family at that banquet, including an infant named Kenzie.

The Krom family were co-hosts of the 1989 Farm Progress Show, held near Rochester. The other primary co-host was Tom Weaver and family. In fact, and you won't read this anywhere else, Kenzie's mom and dad met that summer, with John working as an intern for a chemical company, paying frequent visits to the show site and host farms.

Kenzie is extremely active showing livestock, including pigs, cattle and Southdown sheep. She has won numerous awards for her animals, and for showmanship. She also was the District IV FFA president before being elected as the Indiana FFA president yesterday.

She is the fourteenth young lady to serve as president of Indiana FFA, since the first, Lisa Moss Chaudion, Clay City, was elected in 1985. She is the sixth consecutive young woman elected as president, following Brittany Young, who hails from Hope. The other four leading up to Kenzie were Morgan Dawson, Scottsburg (2010); Casie Conley, Knightstown, (2011): Cameron Mann, Cloverdale, (2012) and Allie Abney, Franklin (2013).

Watch for more about her fellow newly elected state officers soon on Indiana Prairie Farmer online.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.