Kansas Farmer Logo

Outstanding individuals in weed science honored

Adam Davis, University of Illinois, and Dallas Peterson, Kansas State University, receive WSSA's highest recognition.

February 13, 2019

2 Min Read

The Weed Science Society of America honored more than two dozen individuals for their outstanding contributions to the field of weed science.  The awards were presented during the organization’s annual meeting in New Orleans, Louisiana.

“This year’s honorees are actively spearheading innovations and advancing weed science through their research, teaching, publishing and outreach,” says Larry Steckel, 2019 annual meeting chair and incoming president of WSSA.  

2019 winners include:

Fellow Awards (WSSA’s highest recognition):

  • Adam S. Davis, Ph.D., University of Illinois

  • Dallas E. Peterson, Ph.D., Kansas State University

Honorary WSSA member

  • Pedro Jacob Christoffoleti, Ph.D., University of Sao Paulo

Outstanding Extension Award

  • Stephen F. Enloe, Ph.D., University of Florida  

Outstanding Research Award

  • Bruce Maxwell, Ph.D., Montana State University 

Outstanding teacher award

  • Karen A. Renner, Ph.D., Michigan State University

Outstanding paper award, invasive plant science and management

Timing Aminopyralid to Prevent Seed Production Controls Medusahead (Taeniatherum caput-medusae) and Increases Forage Grasses. Authors: Matthew J. Rinella, U.S. Department of Agriculture-Agricultural Research Service; Josh S. Davy, University of California Cooperative Extension; Guy B. Kyser, University of California-Davis; Fadzayi E. Mashiri, University of California Cooperative Extension; Susan E. Bellows, U.S. Department of Agriculture-Agricultural Research Service; Jeremy J. James, UC Sierra Foothill Research and Extension Center, and Vanelle F. Peterson, Dow AgroSciences

Outstanding paper award, weed science

Genetically Engineered Herbicide-Resistant Crops and Herbicide-Resistant Weed Evolution in the United States. Author: Andrew R. Kniss, Ph.D.,  University of Wyoming

Outstanding paper award, weed technology

iHSD Mill Efficacy on the Seeds of Australian Cropping System Weeds. Authors: Michael J. Walsh, Ph.D., University of Sydney; John C. Broster, Ph.D., Charles Sturt University; Stephen B. Powles, Ph.D., University of Western Australia

Outstanding graduate student award

  • Thomas (Tommy) R. Butts, Ph.D. candidate, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Outstanding early career weed scientist

  • Todd Gaines, Ph.D., Colorado State University

Outstanding industry award

  • Rakesh Jain, Ph.D., Syngenta Crop Protection

Outstanding reviewer awards

  • Paul Tseng, Ph.D., Mississippi State University (for Weed Science)

  • Caleb Dalley, Ph.D., North Dakota State University (for Weed Technology)

  • Jacob Barney, Ph.D., Virginia Tech (for Invasive Plant Science and Management)

Public service award

  • Donn Schilling, Ph.D. University of Georgia

About the Weed Science Society of America, which is solely responsible for the information provided and is wholly owned by the source. Informa Business Media and all its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset.

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like