Sponsored By
Michigan Farmer Logo

Michigan Sugar Co. elects new directorsMichigan Sugar Co. elects new directors

Teresa Crook, Mark Sylvester and Bill Zehnder join cooperative’s 13-member board of directors.

January 25, 2019

1 Min Read
new directors of Michigan Sugar
NEW MEMBERS: The new directors are Teresa Crook, Mark Sylvester and Bill Zehnder.

Three new faces have joined the Michigan Sugar Co. board of directors and three outgoing directors were recently honored for their service.

New to the board are Teresa Crook of Frankenmuth, Mark Sylvester of Fairgrove and William A. “Bill” Zehnder of Vassar. All three were elected to the board during Michigan Sugar Co.’s annual meeting Jan. 10 at Saginaw Valley State University.

Crook and Sylvester were elected to serve four-year terms. Also re-elected for another four-year term is Chairman Richard Gerstenberger of Snover.

Crook represents Michigan Sugar’s West District; Sylvester, the Central District; and Gerstenberger, the East District. Zehnder, who is president of the Frankenmuth Bavarian Inn, is serving a two-year term as an outside director.

The board is now composed of the following directors:

  • Richard Gerstenberger, chairman

  • Clark Gerstacker, vice chairman, of Midland

  • Adam Herford, secretary, of Elkton

  • Mark Richards, treasurer, of Dresden, Ontario

  • Warren Bierlein of Vassar

  • Teresa Crook of Frankenmuth

  • Clay Crumbaugh of St. Louis

  • Tom Gettel of Sebewaing

  • William Meylan of Auburn

  • James Roggenbuck of Harbor Beach

  • Mark Sylvester of Fairgrove

  • Thomas Wadsworth of Sandusky

  • William “Bill” Zehnder, Outside Director, of Frankenmuth

During the annual meeting, outgoing directors Charlie Bauer (vice chairman), Kent Houghtaling and Ken Kousky (outside director) were honored for their years of service to the board. Bauer was elected to the board in 2005, Houghtaling in 2011 and Kousky in 2010.

Michigan Sugar was founded in 1906 when six smaller sugar companies merged their operations. In 2002, Michigan Sugar became a grower-owned cooperative and in 2004 merged with Monitor Sugar Co. to form the company that exists today.

Source: Michigan Sugar Co., which is solely responsible for the information provided and is wholly owned by the source. Informa Business Media and all its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset.



Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like