Sponsored By
Farm Futures logo

CropLife America elects new officers, presents awardsCropLife America elects new officers, presents awards

Scott Rawlins of Wilber-Ellis receives organization's highest honor and Jim Blome of Bayer elected chairman.

October 2, 2017

3 Min Read

CropLife America has announced the results of the annual election of directors at its 2017 Annual Meeting. 

Jim Blome, president and CEO of Bayer CropScience, was elected for a two-year term as CLA’s 47th chair of the board.

The following candidates were elected to serve on the CLA Board of Directors for the term 2017-2020:

  • Rico Christensen, Arysta LifeScience Corporation;

  • Jeffrey Johnson, Nichino America;

  • Andrew Lee, Valent U.S.A. Corporation;

  • Brent McGowan, Wilbur-Ellis Company;

  • Chris Payne, CNI;

  • Steve Petersen, Gowan Company;

  • Paul Rea, BASF Corporation;

  • Rob Williams, ADAMA;

  • Lee Schaber, Scotts Miracle-Gro Company;

  • Keith Thomas, Vive Crop Protection.

CLA also recognized exceptional member company employees, allies and staff with awards. Award recipients were nominated by industry professionals and selected by CLA leadership.

The Lea S. Hitchner Service Award is named for the association's first and longest-serving president. It represents CLA’s greatest honor.

The recipient of this year’s award:

  • Scott Rawlins, Wilber-Ellis Company. Rawlins was recognized for his focused leadership in recent years. In addition to a multitude of other issue and governance contributions spanning decades of service to U.S. agriculture, the award shows appreciation for his work in local and state issue management excellence.

Lifetime Achievement Award: Presented to those serving in the agriculture community who have shown exemplary service to the industry and ally partnership with CLA.

This year, CLA honored three individuals:

  • Frank Gasperini, National Council of Agricultural Employers;

  • Glenn Sims, National FFA;

  • Tom Tunnell, Kansas Agribusiness Retailers Association.

Presidential Path to Leadership Award: Presented to those CLA members who have shown exemplary service as voluntary chairs of one or more CLA committees. This year, CLA honored three individuals with the Roosevelt Award (presented to those who have served one full, aggregate term leading a committee or Issues Management Team).

The recipients of this year’s awards were:

  • Diane Allemang, FMC Corporation;

  • Ted Baumgartner, Valent U.S.A. Corporation;

  • Dave Flakne, Syngenta Crop Protection.

Workhorse Award: Recognizes significant and progressive contributions that support the crop protection industry and CLA as serving a key role in the production of a safe, affordable and abundant food supply for U.S. consumers.

This year's recipients:

  • Cindy Smith, Gowan Company;

  • Dan Campbell, Syngenta Crop Protection;

  • John Cummings, FMC Corporation;

  • Bob Graney, Bayer;

  • Kevin Henry, Tessenderlo-Kerley, Inc.;

  • Steve Levine, Monsanto Company;

  • Eric Tamichi, Valent U.S.A. Corporation.

State Legislative Award: Honors those who demonstrate outstanding leadership in the area of state legislative issues and who promote initiatives that preserve, protect and advance the ability of farmers to provide a safe, affordable and abundant food supply to America.

This year's recipients:

  • Iowa Agriculture Secretary Bill Northey

  • Florida Senator Wilton Simpson

Urbanowski Grassroots Award: Presented to a non-member individual who works to promote crop protection within communities and through grassroots activities.

  • Robert Schuler, Arizona

Agriculture Ambassador Award: Honors members of the media or allied organizations who have made a major contribution to the education of the public about crop protection and their contribution to a safe, affordable and abundant food supply.

  • The Institute of Food Technologists. This award was presented to acknowledge IFT’s support and development of the new film “Food Evolution.” 

Chairman’s Award: Recognizes individuals within the CLA staff for exceptional service to member companies, the industry and the association.

  • Jeff Case, senior director, government affairs, CropLife America;

  • Karen Reardon, vice president, public affairs at RISE.

“CLA is proud to honor these winners for their expertise and leadership in guiding our vision of advancing the industry and defending crop protection technology,” said Jay Vroom, president and CEO of CLA.

Source: CropLife America

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like