Kansas Farmer Logo

Kansas Digest: Kansas Association of Wheat Growers and Kansas Farm Bureau award scholarships, and a Wellington FFA advisor is recognized for her work.

May 3, 2023

3 Min Read
Open book with plant sprouting from inside
AGRICULTURAL EDUCATION: The Kansas Association of Wheat Growers and the Kansas Farm Bureau Foundation awarded scholarships to several Kansas students pursuing agricultural degrees at universities and technical colleges in the state. shuang paul wang/Getty Images

The Kansas Association of Wheat Growers announced it has awarded the 2023 Herb Clutter Memorial Scholarship to Carissa Sohm of Rolla, Kan.

Sohm has worked summers as an agronomist assistant for New Millennium Ag LLC and plans to attend Kansas State University and major in agronomy with a minor in animal science. Her goal is to earn her doctorate in agronomy and work as a research agronomist specializing in plant nutrients, soil fertility and water use efficiency. She says these fields of study would be extremely beneficial to her Kansas community.

The Herb Clutter Memorial Scholarship is a $1,000 award for an incoming college freshman from Kansas who will be pursuing a career in agriculture. Clutter was a farmer from Holcomb, Kan., and the first president of the National Association of Wheat Growers, which was established in 1948. He also led the formation of KAWG in 1952, and his support of research into industrial uses of wheat led to the formation of the Kansas Wheat Commission by the Kansas Legislature in 1957.

Kansas Farm Bureau awards scholarships

Each year the Kansas Farm Bureau’s (KFB) Foundation for Agriculture awards scholarships to college students studying in fields that benefit agriculture and rural Kansas. Forty-three recipients from Kansas were awarded $25,500 in scholarships for the 2023-24 school year. Among the recipients were:

  • Logan Elliott. Elliott, of Cherokee County, was awarded $1,000 for the Frank and Helen Bernasek Memorial Scholarship, a permanent, privately endowed scholarship fund.

  • Shelby Spreier. Spreier, of Harvey County, was awarded $1,000 for the Kansas State University Agricultural Communications and Journalism Scholarship.

  • Morgan Barba. Barba, of Ellis County, is the winner of the $500 Godfrey and Emma Bahr-Miller Memorial Scholarship, a permanent, privately endowed scholarship fund for students attending a college in Kansas and majoring in a subject related to agriculture.

  • Caleb Stout. Stout, of Chase County, was awarded $500 for the DeWitt Ahlerich Memorial Scholarship, a permanent, privately endowed scholarship fund.

  • Allison Abeldt and Renae Kohles. Abeldt, of Dickinson County, and Kohles, of Johnson County, each were awarded $500 from the Lester Crandall Memorial Scholarship, a permanent, privately endowed fund.

  • Daniel Johnson. Johnson, of Linn County, was awarded a $500 scholarship to attend technical school from the Michael J. Berntsen Memorial Scholarship.

  • Six students received scholarships to Kansas technical colleges. They are Cordell Brown of Logan County, Jason Colby of Sherman County, Rosston Eckroat of Ellis County, Jace Goodman of Morris County, Colton Pfannenstiel of Ellis County and Cole Salmans of Hodgeman County.

  • Four $1,000 KFB scholarships were awarded to juniors and seniors enrolled in Kansas State University’s College of Agriculture and majoring in a subject related to agriculture. They are Patrick Biggs of Shawnee County, Ryleigh Carr of Thomas County, Candace Fry of Ford County and Elizabeth Sturgis of Cherokee County.

  • Two $1,000 KFB scholarships were awarded to juniors and seniors enrolled at Fort Hays State University. Recipients are Kayler Getz of Gove County and Kyle Sherwood of Scott County.

Wellington FFA advisor recognized

Linda Chase, agriculture instructor and FFA advisor at Wellington High School, Wellington, Kan., was recognized as one of four fellows by the American Farm Bureau Foundation for Agriculture.

The American Farm Bureau Foundation for Agriculture teamed up with Grow with Google to bolster agricultural education curriculum through the Farm Bureau Foundation Fellows Program, a fellowship that allows educators in rural or agricultural regions to teach students where their food comes from.

“Digital skills are increasingly becoming a prerequisite for jobs in today’s economy, yet students in rural areas in particular often don’t have access to the resources that will set them up for success, such as broadband access and program instruction,” says Daniel Meloy, executive director of the foundation. “We hope this program empowers teachers to introduce their students to the exciting world of agriculture, while also teaching them an array of technical skills.”

Over the course of the eight-month program, the fellows developed place-based curriculum that incorporates agriculture, technology and key digital skills into applied digital skills lessons.

“It’s an honor to be a fellow,” Chase says. “I was able to take a project that’s important to our area, the Kansas Wheat Festival, and create a lesson plan around marketing the festival.”

Chase’s lesson plan can be viewed at applieddigitalskills.withgoogle.com/c/en/rural.

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like