Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI

Time running out to nominate a 2021 Master Agriculturist

Harlen Persinger Barn and silos
RICH HISTORY: The Master Agriculturist program dates back 90 years to 1930, when the magazine first started honoring top Wisconsin farmers.
The deadline is March 5. Do you know of someone who deserves this honor in Wisconsin?

In 2021, Wisconsin Agriculturist will again honor Wisconsin farmers who have demonstrated outstanding farm management skills while also taking active leadership roles in their communities.

The Master Agriculturist awards are made to honor the selected individuals and their families.

The 2020 Master Agriculturists are: Charles, George, Tom and Mark Crave of Waterloo; Kent Wendorf of Viroqua, Jeff Hendrickson of Belleville and Eric Rygg of Eau Claire.

The Master Agriculturist program has a rich 90-year history dating back to 1930, when the magazine first started honoring top Wisconsin farmers.

To have a nomination form mailed or emailed to you, call the Wisconsin Agriculturist editorial office at 920-346-2285, or send an email to [email protected].

Nominations must be postmarked by March 5 and can include letters of recommendation, which can help strengthen the nomination. Agronomists, county Extension ag agents, nutritionists, veterinarians, neighbors and clergy members are good sources to ask for recommendations. Winners will be notified by mail in March.

Due to the coronavirus, the luncheon honoring the 2020 winners was postponed. The 2021 winners, who will be selected by a committee of industry leaders, will be honored along with the 2020 Master Agriculturists at a banquet in the summer at La Sure’s Banquet Hall in Oshkosh. Winners also will be featured in the Wisconsin Agriculturist. Past winners, friends, relatives and agribusinesses that do business with the winners will be invited to attend the Master Agriculturist awards program and luncheon. The date will be set in the spring when the coronavirus allows.

Take a few minutes to nominate somebody you believe should receive the award. Nomination forms and letters of recommendation should be returned to Wisconsin Agriculturist, P.O. Box 236, Brandon, WI 53919, or emailed to Fran O’Leary at [email protected].

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.