is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: Central

Cotton Disease Council awards

Winners of the National Cotton Disease Council Outstanding Graduate Student Presentation Awards competition at the recent 2009 Beltwide Cotton Disease Council meeting in San Antonio represented Auburn University and the University of Arkansas.

In the oral presentation competition, first place went to Nicholas S. Sekora, Auburn University, for “Delineating Mixed Populations of Rotylenchulus reniformis and Meloidogyne incognita with FAME Analysis.”

Auburn students Juan David Castillo and Scott R. Moore won second and third place, respectively, for “Antagonistic Potential of Arthrobotrys dactyloides, Dactylaria brochopaga, Fusarium oxysporum, and Paeciolmyces lilacinus for Population Reduction of the Reniform Nematode” and “Rotylenchulus reniformis Dispersal Patterns and Population fluctuations in a Soil Profile and Potential Influence of Rainfall.”

Honorable mention went to Juan de Dois Jarabab of the University of Arkansas for his presentation, “Temporal Study of the Interaction Between Meloidogyne incognita and Thielaviopsis basicola on Cotton.”

The awards program, sponsored by Bayer CropScience, is designed to encourage outstanding graduate work in cotton plant pathology and promote graduate student attendance at the National Cotton Council-coordinated Beltwide Cotton Conferences.

The 2009 Cotton Disease Council, chaired by Kathy Lawrence, Auburn University, was one of 11 cotton technical conferences that convened at the annual forum.

TAGS: Management
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.