Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: MI

Growers awarded in World Dairy Expo forage competition

Mike Rankin  David Hinman, owner of Hardrock Farms of Wheatland, Wyo., was named Grand Champion Forage Producer
GRAND CHAMPION: David Hinman, owner of Hardrock Farms of Wheatland, Wyo., was named Grand Champion Forage Producer with his Commercial Hay entry.
Winners, which included several from Michigan, shared cash prizes totaling more than $26,000.

A total of 266 entries from 16 states were evaluated for the 2020 World Forage Analysis Superbowl. Winners, which included several from Michigan, shared cash prizes totaling more than $26,000.

Because of COVID-19, which forced the cancellation of the World Dairy Expo in Madison, Wis., the 37th World Forage Analysis Superbowl Awards Luncheon was held virtually Sept. 30 in Fort Atkinson, Wis. Awards were presented to the top-five finishers in each category during the virtual event.

Mike Rankin, editor of Hay & Forage Grower magazine, said contest organizers were pleased with the number and quality of entries this year.

“Haymaking goes on whether we have a pandemic or not,” Rankin said. “Last spring, the committee decided we were going to have a contest no matter if there was a show or not. It doesn’t look like the pandemic impacted forage quality this year.”

And the winners are…

With a relative forage quality of 405 and a milk per ton score of 4,062 pounds, Hardrock Farms of Wheatland, Wyo., was named Grand Champion Forage Producer with its Commercial Hay entry and was presented $2,500 from Kemin Animal Nutrition & Health.

The Grand Champion First-Time Entrant cash award of $2,000, sponsored by Kuhn North America, was presented to Dividing Ridge Farm, Fairhope, Pa.

Two Quality Counts Awards were presented to competitors. In the area of Quality Counts Corn Silage, Johnson Farms LLC, Daggett, Mich., took home top honors. The top award for Quality Counts Hay/Haylage went to Lazy 2K, Wheatland, Wyo., and was sponsored by Croplan by WinField. Each of these growers received a check for $2,000.

Following is a list of winners and the number of entries in each category. The grand champion (first-place winner) in each category received a check for $1,500. The top-five placings from each category are:

Baleage Division — sponsored by Agri-King, Inc. (19 entries)

First place. Kendall Guither, Walnut, Ill.

Second place. Jenson Family Farms, Elk Mound, Wis.

Third place. Joseph Beachy, Bonduel, Wis.

Fourth place. Evergreen View LLC, Waldo, Wis.

Fifth place. Katherine Guither, Walnut, Ill.

Commercial Hay Division — sponsored by NEXGROW Alfalfa (13 entries)

First place. Bappe Farm, Riverton, Wyo.

Second place. Lazy 2K, Wheatland, Wyo.

Third place. Cross Roads Farm LLC, Center, Colo.

Fourth place. Rooster Ranch, Casper, Wyo.

Fifth place. Dick and Powell Farm, Cordell, Okla.

Dairy Hay Division — sponsored by W-L Alfalfa (13 entries)

First place. Lester Zimmerman, Penn Yan, N.Y.

Second place. Don & Nancy Hasselquist, Osceola, Wis.

Third place. Olson Farms, Lena, Wis.

Fourth place. Agreda Acres, Byron, Ill.

Fifth place. Town and Country Farms, Melrose, Wis.

Grass Hay Division — sponsored by Barenbrug USA (13 entries)

First place. Lazy 2K, Wheatland, Wyo.

Second place. Hardrock Farms, Wheatland, Wyo.

Third place. Stefan Hay Co., North Collins, N.Y.

Fourth place. Olson Farms, Lena, Wis.

Fifth place. Joseph Beachy, Bonduel, Wis.

Alfalfa Haylage Division — sponsored by Ag-Bag by RCI (39 entries)

First place. Corner Oak Farm, Grand Blanc, Mich.

Second place. Royal Vista Holsteins, Pickett, Wis.

Third place. Ethan Haywood, Hastings, Mich.

Fourth place. Sand Creek Dairy, Hastings, Mich.

Fifth place. Austin Haywood, Hastings, Mich.

Mixed/Grass Haylage Division — sponsored by Lallemand Animal Nutrition (14 entries)

First place. Olson Farms, Lena, Wis.

Second place. Legacy Farms, Shell Lake, Wis.

Third place. Brost Farms, Medford, Wis.

Fourth place. Morning View Dairy LLC, Merrill, Wis.

Fifth place. Leuer Dairy, Oconto, Wis.

Standard Corn Silage Division — sponsored by Scherer Inc. (26 entries)

First place. Jenson Family Farms., Elk Mound, Wis.

Second place. Cla-Cor Dairy, Eastony, Mo.

Third place. Johnson Farms LLC, Daggett, Mich

Fourth place. Platte/Spitzley Dairy, Westphalia, Mich.

Fifth place. O’Harrows Family Farm, Oconto Falls, Wis.

BMR Corn Silage Divison — sponsored by Brevant seeds (129 entries)

First place. West-Vale-Vu Dairy, Nashville, Mich.

Second place. Barbland Farms-South, Fabius, N.Y.

Third place. Dale Amstutz, Sterling, Ohio

Fourth place. Raes Dairy LLC, Phelps, N.Y.

Fifth place. Thornapple Farms, Leicester, N.Y.

In addition to the division and special awards sponsors listed above, the 2020 World Forage Analysis Superbowl was made possible by Platinum sponsor Brevant seeds. Additional support was provided by general sponsors New Holland, National Hay Association, Passion Ag Inc. and Provimi.

The World Forage Analysis Superbowl is organized in partnership between Dairyland Laboratories Inc., Hay & Forage Grower, U.S. Dairy Forage Research Center, University of Wisconsin and World Dairy Expo. To learn more, visit

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.