Sponsored By
Farm Progress

Nominate a Master Farmer before Dec. 1Nominate a Master Farmer before Dec. 1

Award recognizes superior management, innovation, conservation, leadership and community involvement.

August 24, 2017

1 Min Read
NOMINATE NOW: For the 13th straight year, Michigan Farmer magazine will present the Michigan Master Farmer awards. Nominate an outstanding producer before Dec. 1. Last year’s winners included (from left) Tim and Tammy Brodbeck, Dave Williams, and Ida and Ken Wadsworth.

It’s that time again when farmers, agribusiness professionals and others involved in the agricultural industry have the opportunity to nominate the “best of the best” for the Master Farmer awards, presented in February.

For the 13th straight year, Michigan Farmer magazine will present the Michigan Master Farmer awards to three outstanding producers.

Winners are chosen by a committee of agriculture industry leaders based on farm management, innovation, conservation, leadership and community involvement.

The award will be presented during an honorary luncheon, sponsored by Michigan Soybean Promotion Committee, Corn Marketing Program Committee and Michigan Wheat Program, at the Great Lakes Crop Summit on Feb. 1 at Soaring Eagle and Casino in Mount Pleasant.

The award is named the same year that it’s given because it acknowledges a lifetime of achievement and not a single year.

Master Farmers receive a plaque from Michigan Farmer and a Carhartt jacket, donated by Carhartt. They also each receive a $1,000 check, made possible by sponsors Michigan Agricultural Commodities, Wilbur-Ellis and Greenstone Farm Credit Services.

All three farmers are featured in the March issue of Michigan Farmer magazine, and tribute videos will be developed by Brownfield Ag News and be played during the awards luncheon.

Nominate a Master Farmer by clicking on the blue "DOWNLOAD" button at the end of this story for an application. Don’t delay, the deadline is Dec. 1.

Master Farmer History

Fred Tubbs
Mark Huggett
Walter Stafford

Dennis Hasenick
Bob Dykhuis
Dave Morris (honorary)

Pete Clark
Wally Huggett
Armon Southworth

John Crumbaugh
Todd Young
Kurt Ewald

Andy Snider
Dale Weburg
George Weburg
Clark Humrich

Paul Rood
Jeffery Sandborn
Carl Moore

Ken Swanson
Gary Bardenhagen
Bill Irrer

Ronald Helmreich
John Felzke
Frank Lipinski

Earl Barks
John Swanson
Tony Jandernoa

Richard Dobbins
John Schaendorf
Harley Sietsema

Olan and Kent Humm
Robert “Alan” Moore
Richard Lauwers

Delbert Crumbaugh
Brian Haskin
Andy Welden

Tim Brodbeck
Ken and Ida Wadsworth
David Williams

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like