Sponsored By
American Agriculturist Logo

13 scholarships awarded by Dairy Management Inc.13 scholarships awarded by Dairy Management Inc.

Scholarships go to potential future dairy leaders.

October 24, 2018

1 Min Read

The dairy checkoff has awarded 13 academic scholarships to potential future dairy leaders who are enrolled in programs that emphasize dairy.

The National Dairy Promotion and Research Board, through Dairy Management Inc., which manages the national dairy checkoff, annually awards $2,500 scholarships to each student. In addition, the NDB awards a $3,500 James H. Loper Jr. Memorial Scholarship to one outstanding scholarship recipient.

Eligible majors include journalism, communications/public relations, marketing, business, economics, nutrition, food science or agriculture education. Scholarship criteria include academic achievement, a career interest in a dairy-related discipline, along with demonstrated leadership, initiative and integrity.

Tony Rice, a Penn State University student from Mount Pleasant Mills, Pennsylvania, earned the 2018-19 James H. Loper Jr. Memorial Scholarship.

Students earning $2,500 scholarships:

  • Christy Achen, Utah State University;

  • Sanne de Bruijn, South Dakota State University;

  • Tiffany Flatman, Brigham Young University;

  • Alexandra Gambonini, California Polytechnic State University;

  • Kathryn Lyne Gardner, University of Arkansas;

  • Morgan Krause, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities;

  • Haely Leiding, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities;

  • Kayla Leiding, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities;

  • Rebekka Paskewitz, South Dakota State University;

  • Elisabeth Regusci, California Polytechnic State University;

  • Andrew James Wilwerding, South Dakota State University, and

  • Dustin Winston, University of Idaho. 

Source: Dairy Management Inc.

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like