Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI

12 students earn National Dairy Board scholarships

Digital Vision/ThinkstockPhotos farmer walking in dairy barn
Scholarships awarded to students enrolled in programs that emphasize dairy.

The National Dairy Promotion and Research Board (NDB), through Dairy Management Inc., which manages the national dairy checkoff, annually awards $2,500 scholarships to students enrolled in programs that emphasize dairy and who have shown potential to become future dairy leaders. In addition, the NDB awards a $3,500 James H. Loper Jr. Memorial Scholarship to one outstanding scholarship recipient. 

Eligible majors include journalism, communications/public relations, marketing, business, economics, nutrition, food science or agriculture education. Scholarship criteria include academic achievement, a career interest in a dairy-related discipline, along with demonstrated leadership, initiative and integrity. 

Nora Faris, who attends the University of Missouri, earned the 2017-18 James H. Loper Jr. Memorial Scholarship.

Students earning $2,500 scholarships:

  1. Alexandra Gambonini, California Polytechnic State University;
  2. Kirby Krogstad, South Dakota State University;
  3. Riley Lewis, Purdue University;
  4. Jason Perkins, Purdue University;
  5. Andrew Pryor, Middle Tennessee State University;
  6. Tony Rice, Pennsylvania State University;
  7. Audrey Schmitz, Kansas State University;
  8. Meghan Skiba, University of Wisconsin-Madison;
  9. Gabriella Sorg, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities;
  10. Audrey Souza, South Dakota State University;
  11. Jacob Weg, South Dakota State University. 

Source: National Dairy Board

TAGS: Dairy
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.