Sponsored By
Farm Progress

Wisconsin keeps national 4-H dairy judging titleWisconsin keeps national 4-H dairy judging title

The state team takes home top honors from the contest for the second year in a row.

October 8, 2018

1 Min Read
TOP TEAM: Wisconsin’s team won the 2018 National 4-H Dairy Cattle Judging Contest at World Dairy Expo. The team includes coach Mike Marean (left), Brian McCullough, Rachel McCullough, Cole Mahlkuch and Clayton Mahlkuch.

Winning the National 4-H Dairy Cattle Judging Contest for the second year in a row was the team from Wisconsin. The contest took place Oct. 1 at World Dairy Expo in Madison, Wis. This local winning group consists of Cole Mahlkuch, Brian McCullough, Rachel McCullough and Clayton Mahlkuch, and was coached by Mike Marean.

Coming in a close second-place finish overall and sixth in reasons was the Minnesota team. Awna Hirsch of Colorado took home the honor of high individual overall while Ainsley Peterson of Florida won the reasons portion.

The top five teams overall were:

1. Wisconsin with 2,041 points, team members: Clayton Mahlkuch, Cole Mahlkuch, Brian McCullough and Rachel McCullough, coached by Mike Marean

2. Minnesota with 2,040 points, team members: Kjersten Veiseth, Jay Dicke, Owen Scheffler and Madelyn Wehe, coached by Tony Scheffler

3. Maryland with 2,028 points, team members: Dylan Hill, Tiffany Green, Charles Patterson V and Ryan Allen, coached by A. Dennis and W. Carlisle

4. Colorado with 2,027 points, team members: Awna Hirsch, Megan Podtburg, Kyndall Tucker and Morgynne Tucker, coached by K. Maxey and D. Carpio

5. Pennsylvania with 2,019 points, team members: Victoria Clark, Kyle Vanderfeltz, GW Sebright and Quinn Dum, coached by Chad Dechow

The top 10 individuals overall were:

1. Awna Hirsch, Colorado, 707 points
2. Brian McCullough, Wisconsin, 700 points
3. Jay Dicke, Minnesota, 696 points
4. Kjersten Veiseth, Minnesota, 691 points
5. Ainsley Peterson, Florida, 689 points
6. Sydney Warren, Kentucky, 687 points
7. Isabel Hall, Vermont, 685 points
8. Blake Courtney, Iowa, 685 points
9. GW Sebright, Pennsylvania, 682 points
10. Ryan Allen, Maryland, 680 points

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like