Farm Progress

Scott announces Ag Committee Democrats

Ranking member says team represents a variety of districts

Joshua Baethge, Policy editor

January 27, 2023

2 Min Read
house of representatives building
Michael Duva/Getty Images Plus

Ranking Member David Scott announced the fellow Democrats that will serve with him on the House Agriculture Committee. The group includes 11 first-term representatives.

Returning to the committee are Reps. Jim Costa, Jim McGovern, Alma Adams, Abigail Spanberger, Jahana Hayes, Shontel Brown, Stacey Plaskett and Sharice Davids.

They will be joined by newcomers Elissa Slotkin, Yadira Caraveo, Andrea Salinas, Marie Gluesenkamp Perez, Don Davis, Jill Tokuda, Nikki Budzinski, Greg Casar, Jasmine Crockett, Jonathan Jackson, Eric Sorensen and Gabe Vasquez.

All but Slotkin are freshman congressmen. She was first elected in 2019.

Three additional Democratic members will be announced at a later date.

“These members represent a variety of districts, covering the diversity of our industry and our country. As we continue important conversations and making critical decisions surrounding the farm bill, their input will be invaluable,” Rep. Scott said. “I anticipate the diligence of these members, combined with the valuable perspectives they bring on behalf of their constituents, will help the Committee deliver on its commitment to provide positive outcomes for food and agriculture in America.”

Representatives from 15 states are on the Democratic committee including three from Illinois and two each from Texas and North Carolina. Plaskett is the House Delegate from the U.S. Virgin Islands.

Caraveo is Colorado’s first Latina representative. She has vowed to make water infrastructure a priority to address ongoing drought-related issues in Colorado and the West.

After four years of Democratic rule, the House and the Agriculture Committee are back under Republican control. Committee Chair G.T. Thompson announced Republican members earlier this month. It included the return of former Chair Frank Lucas, who oversaw the committee from 2011 to 2015.

The committee will soon begin work on passing a new Farm Bill. Both Thompson and Scott have expressed the need for a timely and bipartisan bill.

Got a policy question, or hot topic idea? Just send it to [email protected].

About the Author(s)

Joshua Baethge

Policy editor, Farm Progress

Joshua Baethge covers a wide range of government issues affecting agriculture. Before joining Farm Progress, he spent 10 years as a news and feature reporter in Texas. During that time, he covered multiple state and local government entities, while also writing about real estate, nightlife, culture and whatever else was the news of the day.

Baethge earned his bachelor’s degree at the University of North Texas. In his free time, he enjoys going to concerts, discovering new restaurants, finding excuses to be outside and traveling as much as possible. He is based in the Dallas area where he lives with his wife and two kids.

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like