Farm Progress

Former committee chair Frank Lucas is among the 12 new members awaiting approval.

Joshua Baethge, Policy editor

January 17, 2023

2 Min Read
House Agriculture Committee Chair G.T. Thompson (left) and former chair Frank Lucas
FARM BILL TEAM: House Agriculture Committee Chair G.T. Thompson (left) says former chair Frank Lucas brings valuable knowledge and experience to the Farm Bill process.Courtesy of Frank Lucas

The House Republican Steering Committee announced its recommendations for GOP members to serve on the House Agriculture Committee. They include 15 returning members and 12 new ones. Committee Chair G.T. Thompson said he welcomes the diverse group of legislators that will represent his party in the 118th Congress.

“It’s imperative we hit the ground running through a rigorous hearing schedule, listening sessions, and aggressive oversight,” Thompson says. “I look forward to working closely with my colleagues as we put forward commonsense solutions that provide certainty for rural America."

Rep. Frank Lucas returns to the committee he chaired from 2011 to 2015. Thompson said he brings valuable knowledge and experience to the Farm Bill process and the committee as a whole.  

During his four-year chairmanship, Lucas helped craft the 2014 Farm Bill. As a committee member, he’s had input in every Farm Bill since 1996. According to him, returning to the Agriculture Committee feels like coming home.

“At a time when strengthening safety nets and accounting for higher input costs are a necessity, it’s the responsibility of the Committee to work across the aisle to craft a comprehensive 2023 Farm Bill, ensuring America’s farmers, ranchers and families have the tools and resources they need to grow the food and fiber and thrive in a 21st century America,” Lucas says. “Even in the hyper-political and terse times we live in today, I have the utmost confidence the House Agriculture Committee can provide certainty for our producers and innovation in nutrition programs.”

Other returning committee members include Reps. Austin Scott, Rick Crawford, Scott DesJarlais, Doug LaMalfa, David Rouzer, Trent Kelly, Don Bacon, Dusty Johnson, Jim Baird, Tracey Mann, Mary Miller, Barry Moore, Kat Cammack and Brad Finstad.

Among the new Committee additions are Reps. John Rose, Ronny Jackson, Mark Alford, Lori Chavez-DeRemer, Monica De La Cruz, John Duarte, Nick Langworthy, Max Miller, Marc Molinaro, Zach Nunn and Derrick Van Orden.

The steering committee’s recommendations are subject to House Republican Conference approval. That is widely expected to be a formality.

Read more about:

Farm Bill

About the Author(s)

Joshua Baethge

Policy editor, Farm Progress

Joshua Baethge covers a wide range of government issues affecting agriculture. Before joining Farm Progress, he spent 10 years as a news and feature reporter in Texas. During that time, he covered multiple state and local government entities, while also writing about real estate, nightlife, culture and whatever else was the news of the day.

Baethge earned his bachelor’s degree at the University of North Texas. In his free time, he enjoys going to concerts, discovering new restaurants, finding excuses to be outside and traveling as much as possible. He is based in the Dallas area where he lives with his wife and two kids.

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like