Nebraska Farmer Logo

National Corn Growers Association leader finishes term

Nebraska Digest: Cattlemen Association welcomes new staff; Soybean Board names associate executive director.

October 30, 2019

3 Min Read
Lynn Chrisp, NCGA president, at podium addressing corn farmers from across the U.S. at a recent Corn Congress
NATIONAL STAGE: Lynn Chrisp, NCGA president, addresses corn farmers from across the U.S. at a recent Corn Congress. Nebraska Corn Board

Lynn Chrisp, a corn farmer from Hastings, Neb., spent the last year as president of the National Corn Growers Association. The Nebraska Corn Board and the Nebraska Corn Growers Association extended their appreciation to Chrisp for serving in the leadership role, which concluded Sept. 30.

Throughout his term, Chrisp dealt with many difficult issues, including trade tariffs, challenges with the Renewable Fuel Standard, small refinery waivers and misleading corn syrup advertisements from Anheuser-Busch. He traveled through corn country, Washington, D.C., and around the world advocating for American corn farmers.

On Oct. 1, Chrisp advanced to NCGA’s chairman position. Kevin Ross, a farmer from Underwood, Iowa, replaced Chrisp as president.

Nebraska Cattlemen Association welcomes new staff

The Nebraska Cattlemen Association recently announced the selection of Ashley Kohls as the association’s director of government affairs. Kohls previously served for five years as the executive director of the Minnesota State Cattlemen’s Association.

She is a graduate of South Dakota State University, where she earned a bachelor’s degree in animal science and microbiology.

Kohls has many years of experience in sectors relevant to the Nebraska beef industry, including nutrition, reproduction and animal health, as well as an extensive food safety and quality assurance background. Kohls will begin her duties Nov. 18.

Nebraska Cattlemen also announced the selection of Patty Goes as an administrative assistant to work with the executive vice president and other staff colleagues in supporting the mission of the association's members. Goes began her duties Oct. 21.

Nebraska Soybean Board names associate executive director

The Nebraska Soybean Board recently announced the hiring of Scott Ritzman as associate executive director.

In his position, Ritzman will work on behalf of the state’s soybean farmers to contribute to the mission of NSB, which is to effectively invest and leverage soybean checkoff resources to maximize profit opportunities for Nebraska soybean farmers.

Ritzman will work on the achievement of NSB’s mission and strategic objectives, program development and administration, employee oversight and leadership, communications and relationship building, and fiscal and contract management.

A native of Omaha, Neb., Ritzman graduated from Midland University with a degree in accounting. Before joining NSB, he spent seven years in the international grain export industry working for Mishek Inc. & Associates, launching projects for clients, enhancing existing programs and solving client problems in foreign markets. Ritzman has experience in the global soy supply-and-demand chain.

Ritzman joined NSB on Oct. 1

Awards aim to keep ag ed teachers in Nebraska

The Nebraska Farm Bureau Foundation awarded 10 teachers with funds in support of agricultural education and FFA programs in Nebraska.

Recipients are all agricultural education teachers in their first through fifth year of teaching. Teachers are eligible for increasing awards each year. As the teachers’ impact grows in the classroom, in their FFA chapters and in their communities each year, the Nebraska Farm Bureau Foundation aims to recognize and support their efforts.

The 10 recipients of the scholarships are Kathryn Arp, Bishop Neumann High School; Jacob Goldfuss, Sandy Creek Public Schools; Kate Grimes, Axtell Community School; Blair Hartman, Ansley Public Schools; Hannah Horak, Shelton High School; Brian Johnson, Litchfield Public Schools; Lacey Jo Peterson, Riverside Public Schools; Morgan Schwartz, Stanton Community Schools; Nicole Sorensen, Minatare High School; and Macie Wippel, Kearney Public Schools.

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like