Sponsored By
Wallaces Farmer

Hoffman Elected President of ASAHoffman Elected President of ASA

Former Iowa Soybean Association President named President of the American Soybean Association at board of directors meeting.

July 18, 2007

1 Min Read

Iowa Soybean Association district director, John Hoffman, was elected American Soybean Association President at the ASA summer board of directors meeting this week in Washington D.C.

"It is a distinct honor and privilege to be elected ASA President," says Hoffman. "I look forward to working with the 23 state associations that make up the ASA."

"My primary focus is first and foremost the new farm bill," said Hoffman. "We have been working with Congress to improve the safety net for soybeans. Close behind that is funding of a biodiesel incentive program, and authorization of a healthy oils incentive to help commercialize new speciality soybeans with improved compositional traits."

New board members welcomed as well

Hoffman currently serves as ISA district 3 director and served as ISA President from September 2001 until February 2003. He will continue to serve at the state level while serving his term as ASA President. Hoffman and his wife, Diane, farm 1,400 acres of soybeans and corn near Waterloo, where they are fifth generation farmers; their farm has been in the family since 1855.

The ASA board welcomed new members including Ray Gaesser, the current ISA president, of Corning and Mark Jackson of Rose Hill. ASA also recognized retiring directors including Corwin Fee of Knoxville and Glenn Janssen of Arlington.

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like